WorldCat Discovery is the Cressman Library catalog of books, e-books, print journals, online journals, journal articles (both print and online) and media, including streaming video. Many of the resources that the library subscribes to and that are available in other databases are also indexed in WorldCat Discovery.
Try starting your search in WorldCat Discovery. Come back later after you've searched other databases. You will usually be able to do more advanced searching in those databases. For example:
|
Are you searching from off campus? Ezproxy information is on the search from off campus page. |
Featured library database | search American Society for Microbiology
Over 20 journals, with 6 that are full open access. "[T]to advance the microbiological sciences by disseminating the results of fundamental and applied research."
Featured library database | search BioOne
Library databases:
American Society for Microbiology (ASM): Current, influential coverage of basic and clinical microbial research.
BioOne: An indexed and fully searchable collection of abstracts that link to full text articles available from BioOne.
Frontiers: Open-access journals across all of academia, covering hundreds of specialty areas in Science, Health, Technology, Engineering and more.
General Science Full Text (EBSCO): Subject coverage includes biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, zoology and much more.
GreenFILE Index (EBSCO): Indexing and abstracts for more than 375,000 records with Open Access full text for more than 4,500 records.
Nature: Search within the journal Nature. Our subscription covers from 2010 to the present.
Oxford University Press: Cressman Library subscribes to several OUP journals. You will also find high quality research articles in OUP Open Access journals. On the search results page, be sure to check availability: Open Access, Free, and Available.
PubMed with Full Text Finder Links: 
ScienceDirect: Journals “subscribed to Full Text” are noted by the symbol to the left of the alphabetical listing.
SpringerLink (Springer Nature): Journals “subscribed to Full Text” are noted by the symbol to the left of the alphabetical listing.
Wiley: NEW, as of 1/2021, the library has current access to 1,500+ Wiley Online journal titles.
Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar from Databases A-Z or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access to an article.
Open Access Databases
- bioRxivThe preprint server for Biology.
A preprint is a full draft research paper that is shared publicly before it has been peer reviewed. - COBRACollection of Biostatistics Research Archive, browse by institution. Digital Commons / bepress.
- eLifeeLife, research communication through open science and open technology innovation
- Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)Free and Open Access to Biodiversity Data
See Terms of Use. - Microbiology SocietyThe Microbiology Society's founding journal, Microbiology is fully Open Access, along with much more, for what will be hybrid access. Look for Open Access and Free Content. (We do not have subscription access).
- NamesforLifeNamesforLife provides a professionally curated nomenclature and taxonomy for Bacteria and Archaea. An alternative version for Bergey's Manual of Systematics of Archaea and Bacteria (BMSAB) where we have access to the abstracts only.
- NEON - National Ecological Observatory Network, Papers & Publicationsfunded by the National Science Foundation (NSF)
- PubMedOver 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Go to PubMed with Full Text Finder Links for a better indication of what the library has access to.
- PubMed CentralPMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Science.govYour Gateway to U.S. Federal Science. Topics include Biology & Nature, Earth & Ocean Sciences, Environment & Environmental Quality, Natural Resources & Conservation
Image Databases
- GreenFILE
To search for images, select Images in the banner at the top of the screen.
Protocols
- bio - protocolIn collaboration with the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).