Articles
Search the databases and indexes listed on this page to find articles on your topic.
E-Journals & Periodicals
Search Cressman Library E-Journals & Periodicals list for the specific journal titles.
The list indicates the journals that the library subscribes to and indicates how to access each one (whether online or in print). The list also provides the years and/or date ranges that are available for each journal.
Indexes
Access covers a wide range of subject areas.
ArticleFirst: An index of articles from the contents pages of over 16,000 journals covering a wide range of fields. WorldCat: A catalog of records representing books, journals, dissertations, audio-visual materials, and manuscripts in repositories worldwide.
MLA International Bibliography via EBSCOhost
An annual index of over 66,000 books and articles, the MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MLA at the Modern Language Association Website
Available at mlajournals.org are the full contents of PMLA from 2002 to the present and metadata for articles published before 2002. Also available at mlajournals.org are the full contents of Profession from 2002 to 2012; subsequent issues are freely available on MLA Commons. See also: the MLA section of this LibGuide on the Journals page.
This resource indexes newspapers, trade journals, legal and corporate information. Often new writers get reviewed in popular newspapers and magazines before they are treated in scholarly journals. This is an excellent resource for information on new authors. Search for the author in "Search the News." Be sure you put quotes around the name!
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost)
PsycINFO, including PsycARTICLES, covers linguistics, creative writing, and the foundations of imagination as well as allowing the literature student to explore the psychological bases of fictional characters.
Related Full Text Library Databases
- EBSCOhostSelect Omnifile Full Text Mega, Humanities Index, MLA International Bibliography. (Consider searching PsycINFO and Social Sciences Index, as well.)
See also: American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Series 1 - Series 5, with coverage from 1691 to 1877. The AAS digital collection with more than 6,500 historical periodical titles documents the life in America from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. A broad range of topics are covered, including science, medicine, agriculture, entertainment, religion, history, women's fashion, literature, and politics.
[The links for each series in the AAS Collection are at the bottom of the EBSCOhost databases page.] - Duke University PressDuke University Press publishes over 40 journals. Well known for publishing in the humanities and social sciences.
- Project Muse100% full-text access to over 300 journals in the arts, humanities, and social-sciences from 60 scholarly publishers.
- SAGEPublisher of over 500 journals in Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Medicine, Technology and Business.
- see also: JSTOROn the results page, select: CONTENT I CAN ACCESS. And/or register for a MyJSTOR account. With a MyJSTOR account, you can read up to six articles each month for free--then select: ALL CONTENT.
and...
Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar from the Cressman Library Databases A-Z list or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access to an article.
Gale Resources: Literary Databases
A search in Gale Artemis Literary Sources searches:
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Dictionary Literary Biography Complete
- Literature Resource Center
- Something about the Author
Be sure to try the Topic Finder!
ezproxy
Access library databases, ebooks, journals, journal articles, and streaming video from off campus.
Directions:
1) select a resource from Databases A-Z or a Research Guide (ex. EBSCOhost)
2) on the “EzPproxy” login screen
3) enter your FalconNet username and password
NOTE: Your EzPproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.
If you encounter a problem or need assistance email Cressman Library Information Services at libinfo@cedarcrest.edu. Email individual librarians to make a Reference appointment for help with research questions.