This is the "Databases" page of the "Nutrition" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nutrition   Tags: diet, dietetics, food science, metabolism, nutrition  

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cedarcrest.edu/nutrition Print Guide

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EZproxy

Library databases and full-text articles may be accessed from off campus.

 

Follow the directions below:

 

1)  select the resource you want to use from a LibGuide or the library website

 

2)  on the “EZproxy” login screen

 

3)  enter your campus network login credentials

 

NOTE: Your EZproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login; also, your Email login and your Canvas login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.

 

If you encounter a problem or need assistance with research questions, contact Cressman Library Information Services at 610-606-4666 (ext: 3536).

Searching Databases for Journal Articles?!

Download and print the Search & Retrieval Tips to refer to while you are searching!

      

    Start with these databases

    CINAHL
    Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

    TIP: On the advanced search screen, select NUTRITION in the Special Interest box.

    • ACS Publications
      American Chemical Society publications
    • BioMed Central
      The Open Access Publisher. (Open access with some restrictions.)
    • EBSCOhost
      Choose from over 15 index and full text databases, including Education Full Text and General Science Full Text.
    • Health & Wellness Resource Center including Alt Health
    • Nutrition Evidence Library (NEL)
      From the United Stated Department of Agriculture (USDA)
    • Ovid
      Select resource(s) to search to begin. Journals "Subscribed to Full Text" are noted by the symbol to the left of the alphabetical listing. Browse journals by subject by choosing the "Browse Journals" link toward the upper right of the default A-Z listing.
    • PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES
      From the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO is a bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.You must go through the EBSCOhost platform to access these resources. It is especially valuable for research on a variety of eating disorders. Select BOTH PsycInfo and PsycArticles. Be certain to use the drop-down subject heading aide!
    • PubMed Central
      PubMed Central is a free digital repository from the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) that archives publicly accessible full text scholarly articles from biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
    • PubMed
      See PubMed Tools (center column) and Clinical Queries.
    • PubMed -- LinkOut with CCC holdings  
        
      Look for the Cedar Crest College logo indicating our access to full text. It will be in the upper-right corner of the abstract page.

      To see the Cedar Crest College logo in the results list, change the format from SUMMARY to ABSTRACT.

      To limit results to just CCC holdings, add loprovpaccccllib[filter] to your search. For example: osteoporosis AND loprovpaccccllib[filter]
    • PubMed MeSH (Medical Subject Headings for PubMed)
    • PubMed PICO Search
    • SAGE Journals Online
      Over 550 peer reviewed journals. Social Sciences and extensive scientific, technical and medical (STM) coverage.
    • ScienceDirect
      Scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. The "green key" when browsing journals and the green square next to the article title when searching indicate full-text. When browsing journals, the journals can be limited to Nutrition. When searching the entire database, limit to Nursing and Health Professions.
    • SpringerLink
      Scientific, technical and medical (STM) journals, book series, books and reference works. Full-text is indicated by a PDF link. Limit to the subdiscipline Nutrition.
    • Taylor & Francis Online
    • USDA’s Nutrition Evidence Library (NEL)
    • Wiley Online Library
    • WorldCat Local
      The Cressman Library main catalog. Search for books, ebooks, media (including streaming video), and journal articles. Use WorldCat Local to request an Interlibrary Loan. Search Libraries Worldwide.

    See also...

        

      Google Scholar

      Search Google Scholar from the Cressman Library Full Text page or from a Cressman Library LibGuide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access.



       

      Journal title questions and finding an article when you already have a journal article citation

      To find nutrition journals or verify our access to a certain journal title, go to E-Journals and Periodicals.

      If you already have a citation, use Google Scholar Find It @ Cedar Crest.

      If you have the DOI, go to the DOI System.

       

      Scholarly Journals?

      A few of the library databases let you limit your search to scholarly journals. CINAHL lets you limit your search to peer reviewed journals. CINAHL also indicates that an article is peer reviewed in the detailed record -- see journal subset.

      Many of the library databases are entirely scholarly like SAGE Journals, for example. When in doubt, whether or not an article is peer reviewed or refereed, look for the "about this journal" section on the journal title webpage.

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip