This is the "Books" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History   Tags: history  

A guide to History resources in the Cressman Library.
Last Updated: May 3, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cedarcrest.edu/history Print Guide

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for Books

Select from the Reference Book and Circulating Collection list on this page.

Continue your search; go to the Cressman Library Catalog or to FirstSearch (Base) and choose WorldCat.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service which makes it possible for materials not available in the Cressman Library to be borrowed from other libraries.

All Cedar Crest students, faculty, alumnae, and staff may use ILL.

To request material through ILL complete an ILL request form. Request forms are available at the Information Services desk, or via the Web. There are two different types of forms, which correspond to specific types of material.

Delivery of ILL materials generally takes one to two weeks. Materials borrowed from Lehigh Valley libraries may arrive within 3 to 5 days. Delivery time of materials borrowed from out-of-state libraries may extend beyond 2 weeks.

For more information on Interlibrary Loan, please visit the library website here.

 

Select Reference Books: General History

This is a list of select historical reference books, also covering historical research methods and skills.

Cover Art
The Information-Literate Historian - Jenny L. Presnell
Call Number: R 907.2 P934I
ISBN: 9780195176520
Publication Date: 2006-09-01

Cover Art
Materials and Methods for History Research - Carla Stoffle; Simon Karter; Samuel Pernacciaro
Call Number: 907.2 S873M
ISBN: 9780918212061
Publication Date: 1979-03-01

Cover Art
Oral History - James Hoopes
Call Number: 907 H788O
ISBN: 0807813419
Publication Date: 1979-04-19

Cover Art
The Historian's Toolbox - Robert C. Williams
Call Number: 907.2 W726H
ISBN: 9780765620262
Publication Date: 2007-04-04

 

Select Reference Books: North America

This is a list of select North American History reference books available in print. A good place to start for general information.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to United States History - Paul S. Boyer (Editor)
Call Number: R 973.03 O93C
ISBN: 0195082095
Publication Date: 2001-07-04

Cover Art
Documents of American History - Henry Steele Commager; Milton Cantor
Call Number: R 973 C734D
ISBN: 9780132172745
Publication Date: 1988-04-01

Cover Art
The Reader's Companion to American History - Eric Foner (Editor); John A. Garraty (Editor)
Call Number: R 973.03 F673R
ISBN: 0395513723
Publication Date: 1991-10-21

Cover Art
The Timetables of American History - Laurence Urdang
Call Number: R 970.002 T583O
ISBN: 0671252461
Publication Date: 1983-10-18

Cover Art
Dictionary of American History - Stanley I. Kutler
Call Number: R 973.03 D554O
ISBN: 0684805332
Publication Date: 2002-12-11


 

Select Reference Books: World History

Cover Art
Dictionary of Historic Documents - George Childs Kohn; Leonard Latkovski (Foreword by)
Call Number: R 909.08 K79D
ISBN: 0816047723
Publication Date: 2003-03-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Asian History - Ainslie T. Embree (Editor)
Call Number: R 950 E56O
ISBN: 0684186195
Publication Date: 1905-06-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa - Philip Mattar
Call Number: R 956 E56O
ISBN: 0028657691
Publication Date: 2004-06-01

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe - Richard Frucht (Editor)
Call Number: R 947 F944E
ISBN: 0815300921
Publication Date: 2000-03-31

Cover Art
The Oxford Classical Dictionary - Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor)
Call Number: R 938 O98C
ISBN: 019866172X
Publication Date: 1996-12-12

 

Circulating Books

Here is just a small selection of books available in the circulating collection.  For more, please search the library's catalog.

Cover Art
North America - Bruce G. Trigger (Editor); Wilcomb E. Washburn (Editor)
Call Number: 970.1 C178H
ISBN: 0521573920
Publication Date: 1996-10-13

Cover Art
A Different Mirror - Ronald T. Takaki
Call Number: 973.04 T136D
ISBN: 0316831123
Publication Date: 1993-06-01


Cover Art
Postwar - Tony Judt
Call Number: 940.55 J93P
ISBN: 9781594200656
Publication Date: 2005-10-06


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip