EZproxy Off Campus Access
Library databases and full-text articles may be accessed from off campus.
Follow the directions below:
1) select the resource you want to use from a LibGuide or the library website
2) on the “EZproxy” login screen
3) enter your campus network login credentials
NOTE: Your EZproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login; also, your Email login and your Canvas login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.
If you encounter a problem or need assistance with research questions, contact Cressman Library Information Services at 610-606-4666 (ext: 3536).
Use encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries to gather background information on your topic. Entries in encyclopdias, handbooks and dictionaries will provide summaries and definitions and will often include citations for further reading.
Search the Library Catalog for Encyclopedias
Or, enter: ti:encyclopedia in the search box below.
Search the Library Catalog for the "SAGE Key Concepts Series"
Or, enter: se:SAGE key concepts in the search box above.
Search the Salem Press Online Reference Shelf
Search The Reference Shelf to explore current Social Studies topics. Cressman Library has The Reference Shelf in print back to the 1940's (also a few from the 1920's). More recent editions are also online.
Search Sage Knowledge
Search 20 encyclopedias and 2 handbooks.
CQ Researcher Online
"... original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy."
Use the Dictionary - OED
Go to the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) or search below:
Get Further Information from Books & Media
In WorldCat Local Discovery, note that the search defaults to Cedar Crest College Cressman Library. Also, you can limit the results to just books, eBooks and other formats.
When you are searching Cressman Library WorldCat Local Discovery for eBooks, the full text for most of our eBooks will be in our EBSCOhost eBook Collection or in our ebrary Academic Complete Collection.
This is the full text page to an EBSCOhost eBook. (Up to 60 pages per eBook title may be saved to PDF. Or, create a My EBSCOhost account to download an entire eBook to an eReader. If downloading to your own computer, you will also need Adobe Digital Editions software.)
This is the full text page to an ebrary eBook. (For most ebrary eBooks, 30% of the book or a chapter may be printed to PDF per user session. Or, create an ebrary account to download an entire eBook to an eReader. If downloading to your own computer, you will also need Adobe Digital Editions software.)