ezproxy
Access library databases, ebooks, journals, journal articles, and streaming video from off campus.
Directions:
1) select a resource from Databases A-Z or a Research Guide (ex. EBSCOhost)
2) on the “EzPproxy” login screen
3) enter your FalconNet username and password
NOTE: Your EzPproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.
If you encounter a problem or need assistance email Cressman Library Information Services at libinfo@cedarcrest.edu. Email individual librarians to make a Reference appointment for help with research questions.
Use this page as a guide to start gathering information in over a dozen ways.
Use encyclopedias, handbooks and dictionaries to gather background information on your topic. Entries in encyclopdias, handbooks and dictionaries will provide summaries and definitions and will usually have citations for further reading.
(1) For example, search for encyclopedias and handbooks in the library catalog.
Enter ti:encyclopedia in the search box or enter se:SAGE key concepts in the search box. Then narrow your search with the facets in the left column on the search results page.
(2) Search The Reference Shelf to explore current Social Studies topics. The Library has The Reference Shelf in print back to the 1940's. More recent editions are online.
Salem Press Online Reference Shelf
(3) The library has several Gale databases, like Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context, Gale Global Issues in Context, and the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Go to the Gale Resources Research Guide for more information.
(4) Search encyclopedias in Business, Management, Economics, History and more.
Now at Wiley Online Library.
(5) Start your search in over 5,000 encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences. Business & Management. Counseling & Psychotherapy. Criminology. Education. Geography. Health & Social Care. Media & Communication. Politics. Psychology. Sociology.
(6) CQ Researcher, "... original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy."
(7) Go to the Oxford English Dictionary (OED) or search below:
(8) Select the Dictionary while in EBSCOhost eBooks
(9) Find books by searching WorldCat Discovery the Library Catalog, EBSCO eBooks or ProQuest eBook Central/ebrary.
In WorldCat Discovery, the search defaults to Cedar Crest College Cressman Library and you can limit the results to just books, eBooks and other formats, like video.
When you search WorldCat Discovery the Library Catalog for eBooks, the full text for most of our eBooks will be in our EBSCOhost eBook or ProQuest Ebook Central Academic Complete collections.
This is the full text page to an EBSCOhost eBook. (Save up to 60 pages per ebook title to PDF or create a My EBSCOhost account to download an entire eBook to an eReader. If downloading to your own computer, you will also need Adobe Digital Editions software.)
This is the full text page to a ProQuest Ebook Central ebook. (For most ProQuest ebooks, print up to 30% of the ebook or a chapter to PDF per user session or create a ProQuest Ebook Central account to download an entire eBook to an eReader. If downloading to your own computer, you will also need Adobe Digital Editions software.)
(12) Get the facts at Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
For more sets of data, take a look at our Data Sets & Statistics Research Guide.
(13) To ILL a print book or an ebook chapter go to the Cressman Library Interlibrary Loan page for more information.