Ways to explore journals and search for articles.
1. Select from the Journals listed on this page; most will have a "search within" feature.
2. Continue your search for many articles in many journals by searching a database. Try searching one of the databases on the Databases page of this research guide.
3. Search EBSCO E-Journals & Periodicals List. You'll find out where to find specific journal titles, including many open access journals, too.
Public Understanding of Science, SAGE Journals Online
"Public Understanding of Science is a fully peer reviewed international journal covering all aspects of the inter-relationships between science (including technology and medicine) and the public."
See also: Public Understanding of Science Blog
The Velvet Light Trap, Project Muse
"The Velvet Light Trap is a journal devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate the understanding of film and other media. While VLT maintains its traditional commitment to the study of American film, it also expands its scope to television and other media, to adjacent institutions, and to other nations' media."
Columbia Journalism Review (CJR),
website http://www.cjr.org/
Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journals
A list of some of the scholarly, peeer-reviewed Communications journals that we have subscription access to. Search the databases that are listed next to the journal titles to find more. Duke Univ. Press, Oxford Univ. Press, Project Muse, Sage Journals Online, Taylor & Francis, Wiley, etc.
Communication Monographs, Taylor & Francis
Communication Research, Sage Journals Online
Communication Theory, Wiley
Communication, Culture & Critique, Wiley
Convergence, Sage Journals Online
Discourse & Society, Sage Journals Online
Discourse Studies, Sage Journals Online
European Journal of Communication, Sage Journals Online
Human Communication Research, Wiley
Journal of Communication, Oxford Univ. Press and/or Wiley
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication, Wiley
Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, Sage Journals Online
Journalism: Theory, Practice, and Criticism, Sage Journals Online
Journalism & Mass Communication Educator, Sage Journals Online
Media, Culture & Society, Sage Journals Online
New Media & Society, Sage Journals Online
Public Culture, Duke Univ. Press
Public Understanding of Science, Sage Journals Online
Television & New Media, Sage Journals Online
The Velvet Light Trap, Project Muse
Search Google Scholar from the Cressman Library Databases A-Z list or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access to an article.
Access library databases, ebooks, journals, journal articles, and streaming video from off campus.
Directions:
1) select a resource from Databases A-Z or a Research Guide (ex. EBSCOhost)
2) on the “EzPproxy” login screen
3) enter your FalconNet username and password
NOTE: Your EzPproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.
If you encounter a problem or need assistance email Cressman Library Information Services at libinfo@cedarcrest.edu. Email individual librarians to make a Reference appointment for help with research questions.