This is the "Searching Databases" page of the "Researching..." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Researching...  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.cedarcrest.edu/researching Print Guide

Searching Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EZproxy Off Campus Access

Library databases and full-text articles may be accessed from off campus.

 

Follow the directions below:

 

1)  select the resource you want to use from a LibGuide or the library website

 

2)  on the “EZproxy” login screen

 

3)  enter your campus network login credentials

 

NOTE: Your EZproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login; also, your Email login and your Canvas login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.

 

If you encounter a problem or need assistance with research questions, contact Cressman Library Information Services at 610-606-4666 (ext: 3536).

Databases include:

TIPS: When searching for books or eBooks search WorldCat Local Discovery. When searching for articles be sure to start with EBSCOhost. When you've developed a search strategy give a few other databases a try; ScienceDirect, for example. Take a look at the other LibGuides, too; find one in your subject area.

EBSCOhost

 

Find a Literature Review in EBSCOhost

Find a literature review article. A literature review article will provide summaries and evaluations of books, scholarly journal articles and other sources all relevant to a specific topic. Read a literature review to explore the breadth and depth of a topic and to further discover resources.

Sometimes a database search can be limited to a literature review or a meta-analysis. In EBSCOhost, literature reviews is a subject. Or, try "literature review" as a keyword.  For example:

("literature review" AND ("global warming" OR "climate change"))

Search EBSCOhost databases
Limit Your Results

In EBSCOhost continued...

Focus your topic:

("public health" AND ("global warming" OR "climate change"))

When searching EBSCOhost, use facets to focus your search, too.

 

Reminder: under Choose Databases, add databases, if needed -- CINAHL, for example.

      

    Google Scholar

    Search Google Scholar from the Cressman Library Full Text page or from a Cressman Library LibGuide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access.



    NOTE: E-Journals & Periodicals

    NOTE: See EBSCO A-to-Z | E-Journals & Periodicals List to find journals and/or to verify Cressman Library holdings, whether online or in print.

    Before submitting an Interlibrary Loan, be sure to look up the journal title in E-Journals & Periodicals to verify whether or not Cressman Library has access.

        
       

      E-Journals & Periodicals Search

       
             

      Interlibrary Loan

      To ILL an article go to the Cressman Library Interlibrary Loan page.

      From there go to: FirstSearch Requests

          
         

        Interlibrary Loan an Article

         

        Facets -- WorldCat Local Discovery

        Modify your search using facets.

        Facets are usually found in a column to the left of your search results.

        WorldCat Local Discovery example,
        limited to books, including ebooks.

            

          Facets -- EBSCOhost

          Modify your search using facets.

          Facets are usually found in a column to the left of your search results.

          EBSCOhost example,
          limited to Academic and Scholarly Journals;
          also limited by publication date.

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip