Provides overviews of current newsworthy social issues. Also, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news--American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs Browse by date back to 1923 or with the Issue Tracker. Follow Pro/Con and Hot Topics like health, social movements, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy, human rights, war and conflict.
Choose from over 15 index and full text databases. Looking for peer-reviewed journal articles? Search EBSCOhost. Includes CINAHL, Education Full Text, PsycInfo and several others like EBSCOhost eBook Collection.
Search Google Scholar from the Cressman Library Databases A-Z list or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It@Cedar Crest and Full Text @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access to an article.
PsycINFO is a bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
Access to over 6,000 ebooks - encyclopedias, handbooks and more. Business & Management. Counseling & Psychotherapy. Criminology. Education. Geography. Health & Social Care. Media & Communication. Politics. Psychology. Sociology.
Explore and Search. Scientific, Technical, and Medical research. Find peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content. Physical Sciences and Engineering. Life Sciences. Health Sciences. Social Sciences and Humanities.
1. Alexander Street Press - a multidisciplinary collection of over 75,000 videos.
2. Ambrose Video - The BBC Shakespeare Plays and The Long Search series.
3. Films on Demand - an award-winning digital collection of over 40,000 titles and over 300,000 segments.
WorldCat Discovery is the Cressman Library catalog of books, e-books, print journals, online journals, journal articles (both print and online) and media, including streaming video. Many of the resources that the library subscribes to and that are available in other databases are also indexed in WorldCat Discovery.
Try starting your search in WorldCat Discovery. Come back later after you've searched other databases. You will usually be able to do more advanced searching in those databases.
To request an Interlibrary Loan, use WorldCat Discovery.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Alternate Name(s):Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Primary sources. Approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom:
Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975)
The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
If you are registering from off campus, enter your campus network login on the EZproxy login screen.
Your EZproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.
Once your registration is complete, go directly to nytimes.com from any web-enabled device (or download the app) and use your unique NYT login. You will not need to go through EZproxy again (except once annually to renew).
For access to The New York Times subject curated academic learning tools available at The New York Times inEducation. inEducation is designed to help students develop skills in critical thinking, analysis, information literacy, writing, and communications. The many subject areas include American Government, Arts & Visual Culture, Biology, Business, Campaigns & Elections, Criminal Justice, Economic, Environmental Science, International Relations, Nursing & Health, Sociology, Writing & English Composition. Register with your Cedar Crest College email address.
Our World in Data’s mission is to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems." There are several other data and dataset sites listed on our Data & Datasets Research Guide.