Reading Resources
- How to read and understand a scientific paperby Jennifer Raff for the Academic Resource Center at Duke
- Policy: Twenty tips for interpreting scientific claimsSutherland, W., Spiegelhalter, D. & Burgman, M. Policy: Twenty tips for interpreting scientific claims. Nature 503, 335–337 (2013). https://doi.org/10.1038/503335a
Writing Resources
Teaching Resources
Getting Started
Environmental Principles and the Evolution of Environmental Law by Publication Date: 2017Environmental principles are elusive concepts in environmental law - their meanings and legal functions are ambiguous, and they have varying histories in different jurisdictions. This book explores the legal understanding of environmental principles.
The global environment : institutions, law, and policy by Publication Date: 2020The fifth edition of 'The Global Environment' reflects the latest events in the in global environmental politics and sustainable development, while providing balanced coverage of the key institutions, environmental issues, treaties, and policies. The book highlights global environmental institutions, major state and non-state actors, and includes a wide range of cases such as climate change, biodiversity, hazardous chemicals, ozone layer depletion, nuclear energy, and resource consumption.
The SAGE Handbook of Environment and SocietyPublication Date: 2007The Handbook of Environment and Society focuses on the interactions between people, societies and economies, and the state of nature and the environment. Editorially integrated but written from multi-disciplinary perspectives, The Handbook of Environment and Society is organised in seven sections: - Environmental thought: past and present - Valuing the environment - Knowledges and knowing - Political economy of environmental change - Environmental technologies - Redesigning natures - Institutions and policies for influencing the environment
Indexing and abstracts for more than 375,000 records with Open Access full text for more than 4,500 records. Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment, including scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Explore and Search. Scientific, Technical, and Medical research. Find peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content. Physical Sciences and Engineering. Life Sciences. Health Sciences. Social Sciences and Humanities.
Multidisciplinary collection of resources. Life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Provides access to several Business, History, and a number of Sociology reference works from Blackwell Reference Online and access to over 1,800 Wiley journals.
- Ecology Law Quarterly
Publishing four issues a year, ELQ provides a forum for preeminent scholarship on groundbreaking environmental law topics, including renewable energy, environmental justice, and international environmental law.
- Energy Policy
Energy Policy is an international peer-reviewed journal addressing the policy implications of energy supply and use from their economic, social, planning and environmental aspects.
- Environmental Impact Assessment Review
Environmental Impact Assessment Review (EIA Review) is a refereed, interdisciplinary journal serving a global audience of practitioners, policy-makers, regulators, academics and others with an interest in the field of impact assessment (IA) and management.
- Journal of Environmental Law & Litigation
Forum for the discussion and presentation of new ideas and theories in environmental and natural resources law.
- Nature
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. Nature also provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends affecting science, scientists and the wider public.
a LibGuide from the Library of Congress
- Environmental Law Institute
The Environmental Law Institute operates an on-going collaborative program devoted to the protection of biological diversity at the state level. The objective of ELI’s State Biodiversity Program is to improve biodiversity protection by identifying both obstacles to and opportunities for the conservation of biological diversity on the state and local level, collaborating with local partners to formulate and implement statewide strategies for biodiversity protection and restoration.
- Science.gov
Your Gateway to U.S. Federal Science
Reading in Environmental Justice
Research Methods
Data and Statistics
Handbook of Mathematics and Statistics for the Environment by Publication Date: 2013
Government Information, Publications, and Websites
Law and Policy
Policy Research
The Design and Implementation of US Climate Policy by Publication Date: 2012
