Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Journals & Databases

EzProxy

Access library databases, ebooks, journals, journal articles, and streaming video from off campus.

 

Directions:

1)  select a resource from Databases A-Z or a Research Guide (ex. EBSCOhost)

2)  on the “EzPproxy” login screen

3)  enter your FalconNet username and password

 

NOTE: Your EzPproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.

If you encounter a problem or need assistance email Cressman Library Information Services at libinfo@cedarcrest.edu. Email individual librarians to make a Reference appointment for help with research questions.

Google

Google Scholar is a place to start but make sure you use your professional indexes.  A controlled vocabulary search is often more reliable & less overwhelming than a Google search.

If you use Google for a web search; use Google advanced which gives you more control over the results.  If you limit by Domain you can see the results from goverment sites (.gov), organizations sites (.org), or education sites (.edu). You can also limit by when the site was last updated.

Evaluate sites the way you would evaluate a book or other resource.  Who sponsors it?  When was it last updated?  Who wrote it? Who thinks it is a good site? Typing "Link: " then the sites address in the Google search bar should result in a list of sites that links to that particular web-page.  Who points to it will tell you something about the usefulness of the page.

Google Advanced Search

Featured Journals

Journals

Open Journals in Education (OJED)

Open Journals in Education OJED screenshot

Journals, cont.

Select from the Journals listed on this page.

Continue your search for journal titles, go to EBSCO E-Journals & Periodicals Publicaton Finder to find journals and/or to verify our access.

ERIC Journals -- EJ (Document Type)

 

If you are off campus ERIC will go through EzProxy so that if we have access to an article via an ERIC "direct link" you will be able to retrieve the full text without having to re-look the article up in a library database. Warning: Direct links that are openly available sometimes take you out of EzProxy.

Be sure cedarcrestcollege.idm.oclc.org is part of the URL when you are searching from off campus and need access to what we subscribe to.

ERIC Non-Journal sources -- ED (Document Type)

Databases

ERIC

 

Off campus? Go to ERIC through Ezproxy to have access to Cressman Library subscriptions.

When you are off campus, our ERIC links will go through EzProxy so that if we have access to an article via an ERIC "direct link" you will be able to get to the full text. Warning: Direct links that are openly available sometimes take you out of EzProxy. Be sure cedarcrestcollege.idm.oclc.org is part of the URL when you are searching from off campus and need access to what we subscribe to.

Check E-Journals & Periodicals to verify whether or not Cedar Crest has access to certain journals if the ERIC "direct links" do not take you to the full text.

Search ERIC for art therapy with an advanced Google search.

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar from Databases A-Z or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access.

Google Scholar Search

Find an article when you already have a journal article citation

If you already have a citation, use Google Scholar Find It @ Cedar Crest, or WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog.

If you have the DOI, go to the DOI System. Use the link given here or from Databases A-Z so you have access to library subscriptions.
 

More Google

Google is a place to start but make sure you use your professional indexes. A controlled vocabulary search is often more reliable & less overwhelming than a Google search.

If you use Google for a web search; use Google advanced which gives you more control over the results. If you limit by Domain you can see the results from goverment sites (.gov), organizations sites (.org), or education sites (.edu).

You can also limit by when the site was last updated.

Evaluate sites the way you would evaluate a book or other resource. Who sponsors it? When was it last updated? Who wrote it? Who thinks it is a good site? Typing "Link: " then the sites address in the Google search bar should result in a list of sites that links to that particular web-page. Who points to it will tell you something about the usefulness of the page.

 Google Advanced Search  https://www.google.com/advanced_search

◦Search tips to maximize & limit results