Art Therapy: ART 103

Concentrate your searches in PsycInfo/PsycArticles (and CINAHL) as introduced in this presentation. The Full Text Finder links will take you to the other databases that are covered. Try the sample searches featured in the next two boxes to get started.

PsycInfo Scope Note for the Subject, Art Therapy

CINAHL Scope Note for the Subject, Art Therapy

Notes about searching and search results.

1. Look for the subjects that are assigned to articles in the database you are searching. (EBSCO databases.)
2. Look for author supplied keywords in EBSCO databases and other databases, too.
3. In EBSCO, PsycArticles/PsycInfo designates Art Therapy as a subject, so when you search on the keyword phrase “art therapy” you will find the articles tagged with that subject.
4. Whether the database has the option to search by subject or not, it may be especially helpful to brainstorm terminology before you begin a search. Can you list a few other terms that describe Art Therapy as a concept in addition to these? Expressive Arts, Creative Arts

Art Therapy Subject Scope Note in the Education Full Text Thesaurus

According to Berkeley’s site, Understanding Science 101 Scrutinizing Science, peer review helps provide assurance that published research meets minimum standards for scientific quality. Peer review typically works something like this:

1. A group of scientists completes a study and writes it up in the form of an article. They submit it to a journal for publication.
2. The journal’s editors send the article to several other scientists who work in the same field (i.e., the “peers” of peer review).
3. Those reviewers provide feedback on the article and tell the editor whether or not they think the study is of high enough quality to be published.
4. The authors may then revise their article and resubmit it for consideration.
5. Only articles that meet good scientific standards (e.g., acknowledge and build upon other work in the field, rely on logical reasoning and well-designed studies, back up claims with evidence, etc.) are accepted for publication.

More at Understanding Science 101, Scrutinizing Science: Peer Review

Definitions?

• Oxford English Dictionary

Literature Reviews, tips:

• The Health Sciences Writing Center, University of Toronto

• The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

• The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison

APA Style tips and more:

• APA and MLA Citation Game Home Page

• Cressman Citing Research Guide - APA Style

• Annotated Bibliography list of links for more information

• DOI Resolver (Digital Object Identifier)