Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources for COVID-19: Home

List of Academic Resources available during the covid-19 pandemic.

List of Academic Resources available during the covid-19 pandemic. (Resources for COVID-19 and resources without paywalls during the coronavirus pandemic)

The list includes resources that scholarly publishers have made open in response to the covid-19 pandemic and are about covid-19 related research or coronavirus. Also, included are resources where database providers have offered trials to colleges and universities for their support of Spring Semester classes all going online. The trials are restricted to Cedar Crest College students, faculty, and staff, so please follow the links as indicated and log in with your FalconNet account, as needed, to EzProxy. Your FalconNet account is the same as your Canvas login and the same as your Cedar Crest email login (without @cedarcrest.edu). It is not your My.CedarCrest.

The list is simply in alphabetical order. Check back, once the page is updated further, there will be other ways to sort through and find what you need, whether journal article, ebook, or video.

 

List with Updates as of 5/15/2020

American Chemical Society (ACS)

Chemistry in Coronavirus Research: A Free-to-Read Collection from the American Chemical Society

[ACS via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

American Society for Microbiology (ASM)

COVID-19 Resourse Page provides important ASM updates and current information on the coronavirus. ASM Journals is offering free access to more than 50 research articles published over the last year.

[ASM via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

Annual Reviews

https://annualreviewsnews.org/2020/03/13/annual-reviews-removes-access-control-in-response-to-covid-19-pandemic/

“To assist the many students, faculty, and researchers who are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic, effective today, we have made our journals available to all (without access control) through Thursday April 30, 2020. On that date, we will assess the need to extend this policy.”

[Annual Reviews via EzProxy for off-campus access to the Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

BioOne Complete https://complete.bioone.org/covid-19

BioOne Partners with Libraries and Publishers to Provide Peer-Reviewed Research to Inform the Coronavirus Crisis http://www.bioonepublishing.org/news/bioone-partners-libraries-publishers-peer-reviewed-research-coronavirus-crisis/

In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and our publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access through 2020:

Avian Diseases (125 articles)

Journal of Wildlife Diseases (56 articles)

Journal of Zoo and Wildlife Medicine (34 articles)

Additional articles related to the coronavirus and pandemics on BioOne Complete.

[BioOne Complete via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

Bloomsbury Collections

Bloomsbury Digital Resources are now available through the end of May 2020. To access, use the given link—you must be authenticated as being from Cedar Crest College. eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences—over 6,000 titles. Also, the new Human Kinetics Library.

 

Cochrane

Access to Cochrane Library is temporarily unrestricted.

 

Copyright Clearance Center https://www.copyright.com/coronavirus-covid-19/

The Copyright Clearance Center “recognizes publishing and information organizations for contributing to the common good by providing access to relevant science, news and educational content related to COVID-19 and the novel Coronavirus causing it.” The list of resources is being regularly updated.

See also: data visualizations, dashboards, and datasets related to COVID-19

 

CREDO Search CREDO Reference (Academic Core) or go to CREDO/Infobase Essentials Collection and click subscriber access (all 28 collections), until May 28, 2020.

Full text content from 700+ books in the Academic Core covering the full range of subjects.

Over 450,000 images, over 200,000 audio files, and over 1,200 videos.  

See also: Credo Reference LibGuides, please go to http://credoreference.libguides.com

[On campus/VPN access is currently active. Off campus access coming soon!]

 

EBSCO Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Resource Center, including DynaMed COVID-19 Topic with COVID-19 Epidemiology Statistics, Visualization of Pandemic Since Onset, Disease Prevention Skills from EBSCO’s Dynamic Health™

EBSCOhost Database Trials:

  1. World Politics Review –“This unique database provides uncompromising analysis of critical global trends to give academics, policymakers and businesspeople the context they need to have the confidence they want.” [Trial ends 6/17/2020]
  2. Harvard Business Review Press Collection –The complete catalog of Harvard Business Review e-books. Over 600 e-books that include 400+ monographs, newly published e-books, seminal works, and 150+ article compilations of the HBR Classics series. [Trial ends 5/30/2020]

[EBSCOhost via EzProxy for off-campus access to the Cressman Library subscription databases.]

 

Emerald Publishing

Coronavirus, the management of epidemics and the wider impact on society. “A number of freely available research resources related to the Coronavirus group of viruses, and epidemics more broadly.” Topics are: COVID-19 Expert Briefings, Education under isolation, Healthcare, Impact on the tourism/hospitality industry, Isolation, Remote working, Responding to a pandemic, Human logistics, Enabling technologies, Disaster prevention & management, Social consequences.

 

HeinOnline Academic

Law Journal Library, Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law, Criminal Justice & Criminology, History of International Law, History of Supreme Court Nominations, John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection, Pentagon Papers, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, Women and the Law (Peggy), and much more.

Free trial subscription to HeinOnline Academic is activate and will expire on December 15, 2020. Use the given link to be authenticated for Cedar Crest College students, faculty, and staff.

 

Infobase (see also: CREDO)

 

Institute of Physics (IOP)

https://ioppublishing.org/news/coronavirus-articles-free-to-access-content-from-iop-publishing/

 

Jove

https://www.jove.com/science-education-library

Fill out the form to create an account and start your free Science Education trial

https://www.jove.com/coronavirusresource

Coronavirus Free Access Resource Center

 

Update: MIT Press, requested temporary access until the end of June 2020 via Cedar Crest College IP address authentication. MIT Press Direct | Books Gateway.

 

Mary Ann Liebert, Inc.

“… [V]ital, reliable, peer-reviewed resources in times where misinformation has run rampant. As the world comes to grips with the continuing COVID-19 pandemic, it is clear that there is a critical need for global preparedness, collaboration, and effective management strategies.

The... collection of articles is available free online to serve as open resources for the community as it works to ensure that the COVID-19 outbreak is fully understood and contained.”

 

Nature

Keeping up with the Latest Coronavirus Research, including LitCovid for relevant articles in PubMed and considered the most comprehensive scientific resource on the subject.

Nature News, with many recent articles related to coronavirus, such as “How blood from coronavirus survivors might save lives” and “The coronavirus pandemic in five powerful charts.”

[Nature via EzProxy for off-campus access to the Cressman Library subscription.]

 

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an international organisation that works to build better policies for better lives. Our goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. We draw on almost 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow.” http://www.oecd.org/coronavirus/en/ Coronavirus data in real time.

 

Ovid / Wolters Kluwer / LWW

The library has access to Wolters Kluwer/Ovid COVID-19 Resources, though not all journal articles will be in full text. Refer to the site https://coronavirus.ovidds.com/ (and http://tools.ovid.com/coronavirus/) for access to the latest updates, open access articles, and an article feed. Also, Expert Searches! Several of the Expert Searches go to MEDLINE, so we have requested temporary access to that database.

Our trial access to MEDLINE ended April 10, 2020.

See also: Health Clarity | COVID-19 Resources and Understanding COVID-19 and How to Stay Safe (Video: What COVID-19 is and how it's spread, What the symptoms of COVID-19 are, What to do if you are feeling sick, What to do if you are worried you’ve been exposed, How to stay healthy, and How to slow the spread of the virus)

[To search MEDLINE outside of the OVID COVID-19 site listed above, go to Ovid as listed on the library Full Text page or on the Nursing LibGuide. From there, you will be prompted to Select Resources. Our usual list of resources includes the top 3 choices and the EBM Reviews. Use the scroll bar to the right to select MEDLINE.]

Ovid / Wolters Kluwer / LWW – trial (60 days) of the entire LWW Health Library* and more. Wolters Kluwer's Remote Learning Site**, Acland's Anatomy, 5MinuteConsult, Bates Visual Guide  [Links are via EzProxy for off-campus access to the Cressman Library trial.]

*Pharmacy, Medical Education, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Clerkship/Clinical Rotations, PA Core Education, PA Rotations/Specialties, Made Incredibly Easy!, Advanced Practice Nursing, Board Review Series, Internal Medicine. You will also find Exercise Science there, which we do already have a current subscription for.

**The trial does not include Firecracker.

 

Oxford University Press (OUP)

Access to OUP resources on COVID-19, other coronaviruses, and related topics.

“As part of our response to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic across the world, Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this health crisis.” Sample search: 2500+ Oxford-hosted freely available journal articles related to corona virus.

[OUP Journals via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

Project Muse https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/ “In response to the challenges created by the global public health crisis of COVID-19, Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform.” Including:

Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals)

Ohio State University Press (all books and journals)

University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals)

University of North Carolina Press (all books)

Temple University Press (all books)

Vanderbilt University Press (selected books)

[Project Muse via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

ProQuest – Ebook Central (ebrary/Academic Complete) Collection

ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – have automatically converted to unlimited access for that period.

[ProQuest via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library Ebook Central titles.]

 

Psychotherapy.net https://www.psychotherapy.net/stream/cedarcrest (VPN). Off campus access to Psychotherapy.net via EzProxy coming soon. Over 300 videos for Art Therapy, Psychology, Social Work and related disciplines. Until 5/31/2020.

 

Public Books Database https://www.publicbooks.org/public-books-database/

 

Royal Society

https://royalsocietypublishing.org/topic/special-collections/novel-coronavirus-outbreak

All research findings and data relevant to the covid-19 pandemic immediately open access.

 

Royal Society of Chemistry

https://www.rsc.org/covid-19-response/

Covid-19 – continuing to support our community.

 

SAGE Journals

https://us.sagepub.com/en-us/nam/press/access-coronavirus-covid-19-articles-from-sage-publishing Access Coronavirus (COVID-19) Articles from SAGE Publishing

Research related to coronavirus is freely available on SAGE Journals. A full list of the open articles includes research both in science, technology, and medicine and in the social and behavioral sciences. SAGE will continue to make new research available related to the virus as it is published.

[SAGE Journals via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

SAGE Knowledge (ebooks and video), temporary 90 day access to SAGE Video covering over 10 disciplines, access to Research Methods video, and access to SAGE Knowledge Complete Books and Reference Collection. (Cressman Library does have subscription access to several SAGE Knowledge ebooks. The temporary access provides complete coverage until the end of June, 2020. Requires Cedar Crest College, Cressman Library authentication—VPN or EzProxy.)

As of 4/10/2020:

SAGE Video -- Business & Management, Counseling & Psychotherapy, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Leadership, Media, Communication & Cultural Studies, Nursing, Politics & International Relations, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology

SAGE Research Methods Video

SAGE Knowledge Now includes access that is in addition to our SAGE Knowledge subscription access.

[SAGE Knowledge via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscription ebooks.]

 

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)

https://www.elsevier.com/connect/coronavirus-information-center

Novel Coronavirus Information Center

ScienceDirect Elsevier’s free health and medical research on the novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) and COVID-19

[ScienceDirect via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

SpringerNature

https://www.springernature.com/gp/researchers/campaigns/coronavirus

SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19: A New Virus and Associated Respiratory Disease

[SpringerNature/SpringerLink via EzProxy for off-campus access to the Cressman Library subscriptions]

 

Statista

https://www.statista.com/topics/5994/the-coronavirus-disease-covid-19-outbreak/

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Disease Pandemic- Statistics & Facts

[Statista via EzProxy for off-campus access to the Cressman Library subscription database.]

 

Taylor & Francis

All COVID-19 related, peer-reviewed research published in Taylor & Francis journals is free to access and available for anyone to read. Collection of 1400+ articles matching 'Coronavirus', 1150+ of which have been made open in response to the pandemic. See also: Taylor & Francis “Newsroom”

[Taylor & Francis via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

Thieme Medical Publishers, Inc. https://www.thieme.com/resources/1721-coronavirus

Thieme is Offering Free Access to Specialist Information on the Coronavirus.

 

University of California Press

Free access to all UC Press journals through June 2020:

“In recognition of the impact of coronavirus on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of our online journals content free to all through June 2020.”

 

University of Michigan Press COVID 19 Response: Free Access to Scholarly Ebooks

"In response to the request of the International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) for 'creative solutions that allows critical access to publisher content for the research and public health communities,' University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read, but not download, for the remainder of the academic term.

 

Wiley Online Library

https://novel-coronavirus.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/

Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access

More than 5,300 Coronavirus-related articles and book chapters on Wiley Online.

“In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community.”

[Wiley via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions.]

 

See also:

Center for Disease Control and Prevention CDC

National Institutes of Health NIH and Clinical Trials.gov

PubMed, Trending Articles

[PubMed via EzProxy for off-campus access to Cressman Library subscriptions]

[PubMed LinkOut via EzProxy for access to Cressman Library subscriptions. Change format from Summary to Abstract and look for the Cedar Crest logo. For LinkOut results—Cressman Library Holdings—take this link first and then Trending Articles]

World Health Organization WHO

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/global-research-on-novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov

Global research on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)

Exercise, Immunity and the COVID-19 Pandemic (featured blog post by Richard J. Simpson, Ph.D., FACSM)

Exercise is Medicine Rx for Health: Staying Active During Coronavirus Pandemic (PDF handout)

JAMA Network

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Check back here for updates on COVID-19 diagnosis and treatment.

Knowable Magazine article from Annual Reviews

https://www.knowablemagazine.org/article/health-disease/2020/closing-new-coronavirus

Closing in on the New Coronavirus

Library Journal is offering temporary free access to the digitized edition of LJ and free access to all content on their website. Go to: Library Journal, for LJ, login in the upper right with email address: access@libraryjournal.com and password: LJfullaccess1

New York Times Coronavirus Outbreak with Live Updates

[New York Times from ProQuest US Major Dailies via EzProxy for off-campus access to the Cressman Library subscription.]

New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. All Journal content related to the Covid-19 pandemic is freely available.

Science Magazine (American Association for the Advancement of Science—AAAS)

Coronavirus: Research, Commentary, and News “The Science journals are striving to provide the best and most timely research, analysis, and news coverage of COVID-19 and the coronavirus that causes it.”

 

sheri.schneider@cedarcrest.edu

2020-MAR-25

2020-APR-02 (updated)

2020-APR-09 (updated)

2020-MAY-15 (updated)

 

Resources/credits include,

See also:

 

Sheri Schneider

Sheri Schneider's picture
Sheri Schneider
Contact:
Electronic Resources/Information & Instructional Services Librarian

Cedar Crest College
Cressman Library
Main Level, Room 304

Office Hours:
9 a.m. - 5 p.m. M, T, W, F
8:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. R