Indexes
Search indexes/abstracts and databases for journal articles:
Often published by professional organizations and containing articles written by experts and reviewed by peers, journal articles report on research and development well before the information can be published in a book. Articles may also provide an in-depth analysis of a specific aspect of a general topic.
Search indexes/abstracts to locate articles within journals:
An index lists articles that are published in either a wide range of journals or in a discipline specific database. Each record in the list or database provides information for retrieving an article. An abstract is often added to provide a brief summary of the article.
For example, from CINAHL (without abstract):
For abstract view, see page options and detailed result format.
Title: Global health governance and the challenge of chronic, non-communicable disease.
Source: Magnusson, Roger. Journal Of Law, Medicine & Ethics Volume: 38 Issue: 3 (2010-10-01) p. 490-507.
While CINAHL and MEDLINE index specific databases, many databases index a wide range of journals and are multidisciplinary. FirstSearch ArticleFirst is an example of a multidisciplinary index.
Cressman Library indexes are listed on the library website Indexes page.
Search E-Journals & Periodicals for journal titles to determine Cressman Library access, whether online and/or in print.
E-Journals & Periodicals example:
Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics
EBSCOhost: 1995 to present
Follow the EBSCOhost link and then enter search terms from the citation: “Global health governance AND Magnusson”
ArticleFirst
Please note! FirstSearch is being phased out. Please start searching WorldCat Local instead. Add/remove databases, including MEDLINE, as needed with advanced search.
FirstSearch ArticleFirst
Advanced Search
1. Advanced Search: Use this feature to combine search terms.
2. Search Strategy: Plan your search by combining related topics together with Boolean logic.
3. Search Fields: Know the information for specific fields; for example: author, title, source (journal).
4. Limit to: Limit the results by year and to subscriptions held by my library.
MEDLINE
Please note! FirstSearch will be phased out. Please start searching WorldCat Local instead. Add/remove databases as needed with advanced search.
FirstSearch MEDLINE
Advanced Search
1. Advanced Search: Use this feature to combine search terms.
2. Search Strategy: Plan your search by combining related topics together with Boolean logic.
3. Search Fields: Know the information for specific fields; for example: author, title, source (journal).
4. Limit to: Limit the results by year and to subscriptions held by my library.
5. Subjects: 
WorldCat Local
WorldCat Local – click for advanced search, then click the button to add/remove databases and you will be on this screen.
CINAHL
EBSCOhost CINAHL
Advanced Search
CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health):
More than 2.6 million records
Indexing for more than 3,000 journals
More than 70 full text journals
Search options and limits include:
Linked Full Text
Published Date
First Author is a Nurse
Any Author is a Nurse
Publication Type (journal article, research, tables/charts, etc.)
PsycINFO
EBSCOhost PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES
Advanced Search
PsycINFO® and PsycARTICLES® from the American Psychological Association’s (APA):
Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health:
Abstracts and full text of scholarly and scientific journal articles
Book chapters and books
Dissertations
Search options and limits include:
Linked Full Text
Published Date
Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals
Methodology (ex. Empirical Study)
Retrieving Articles
Retrieving Articles:
FirstSearch ArticleFirst, FirstSearch MEDLINE, EBSCOhost CINAHL and EBSCOhost PsycINFO/PsycArticles often include links to full text articles, either HTML or PDFs.
FirstSearch: follow the Find It @ Cedar Crest College link.
EBSCOhost: open the HTML Full Text link or open the PDF Full Text link.
To verify Cressman Library access to journals, go to the library website and to E-Journals & Periodicals.
Example: Public Health Nursing is available in print from 1999 to 2005 and online by following the Wiley Online Library link.
When Cressman Library does not have access to the article(s) you need, request an Interlibrary Loan. See Unit 3, ILL.