Getting Started
Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by Publication Date: 2007The Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics presents state-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics in an unintimidating style. The ideas and tools contained in these pages are approachable and can be invaluable for understanding our very technical world and the increasing flow of information.
Key Research Concepts in Politics & International Relations by Publication Date: 2013This book is designed for students of Politics and International Relations at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. It provides explanations of fifty core concepts in political research methods and, uniquely, explains how these methods can be used in International Relations. Where relevant, alternative research concepts and strategies are suggested. Each 'concept' will incorporate a simple definition, a focused explanation, an examination of key debates and areas of research, along with cross-references to other related concepts. This format allows students and researchers alike to utilise the text either as a companion to specific modules, or on a 'dip into' basis.
The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations by Publication Date: 2020The SAGE Handbook of Research Methods in Political Science and International Relations offers a comprehensive overview of research processes in social science - from the ideation and design of research projects, through the construction of theoretical arguments, to conceptualization, measurement, and data collection, and quantitative and qualitative empirical analysis - exposited through 65 major new contributions from leading international methodologists. Each chapter surveys, builds upon, and extends the modern state of the art in its area.
- Basic Concepts in Research and Data Analysis
a chapter from Elementary Statistical Methods
- Basic Research Concepts (BRC)
training module series from the Office of Research Integrity at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- Crash Course Statistics
a video series from Crash Course
- Interactive Math Glossary
a list of vocabulary from the Texas Education Agency for learners K-8
Gather Evidence
Consider strategies for finding information. How will you find answers to your research question?
When to Use What Research Design by Publication Date: 2012
- Know Your ResearchResources on research methods for Journalists from the Harvard Kennedy School
Reflect / Re-assess
- Is the question feasible to research?
- Does the evidence seem to support your conclusion?
- Have you met the assignment's requirements?
Analyze Data
Analyze Data books
Present Results
Show and tell the audience about your conclusions.
Information Visualization: An Introduction by Publication Date: 2014
Writing up Quantitative Research in the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Publication Date: 2016
- Sage Research Methods LibGuideHow to get the most out of Sage Research Methods
Research Design and Methods
Research design are the principles by which social scientists create their experiments. Before this process can begin, it is essential to develop a workable research question. This is the stage at which researchers determine their how- the processes of measuring who, what, and when they want to study. Some factors that structure a study's design are duration, indicators, populations, variables, etc.
Research Design and Analysis : A Primer for the Non-Statistician by Publication Date: 2019
Research methods are the principles by which social scientists analyze the data collected in their experiments. Once a research question has been created, consider the type of data needed to prove a conclusion. This is the stage at which researchers determine the measurements used in a study. Some factors that determine the methods used are the amount of variables, sample size, etc.
Basic Research Methods: An Entry to Social Science Research by Publication Date: 2010
Qualitative or Quantitative?
Research in the social sciences requires the use of both qualitative and quantitative methods. Qualitative assessment tries to measure the quality of experiences and outcomes; often data is collected through non-numerical methods. However, numerical values can be assigned to results and computational methods can be used in assessments. These variables are sometimes referred to as intangibles. Common topics in political science include opinion polling in elections, quality of life studies, as well as in-person and phone interviews. Quantitative assessment uses computational methods of analysis and often relies upon standards of measurement, like GDP. In political economy, research often seeks to test mathematical equations of economic theory.
Mixed Methods
Mixed methods are assessments that use qualitative and quantitative research methods. To obtain the necessary data to support a conclusion, a research project may require the use of both. This is common in public policy research and government contracting. Important to lawmakers are the actual outcomes of policy decisions in addition to constituent perceptions of the success or failure of projects.
The Sage Handbook of Mixed Methods Research Design by Publication Date: 2023
Research Ethics
- APSA Ethics GuideProfessional ethics in political science from the American Political Science Association
- Ethics in Political Science Research: Regulatory Practices and Practical Suggestionsa chapter from Handbook of Research Ethics and Scientific Integrity
