Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Fact Finder
"Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data." Offered by the Census Bureau.
American National Election Studies
"To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation."
Bureau of Economic Analysis
"The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner." Part of the United States Department of Commerce.
The Data Mine
"The Data Mine, CQ Roll Call's multimedia blog, features interactive visualizations of government and congressional data along with in-depth, policy-oriented analysis of the latest facts and figures."
"Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more."
United States Census Bureau
The USCB serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Economy at a Glance
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) produces Economy at a Glance pages at the national, regional, state, and metropolitan area levels. The data displayed in these pages are assembled from different surveys and programs conducted by BLS. The Economy at a Glance pages are refreshed with current data every time any of the source programs releases new statistics. This typically occurs 7-9 times per month.
International Relations Data
Maintained by a political science professor from the University of Noth Texas, this site includes seven pages of links to on-line data resources for the serious international relations scholar. These pages are meant to include the most useful data sources on processes of international conflict and cooperation, as well as data covering international economic, environmental, political, and social data and data on similar topics for the United States.
Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories.
A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official Federal statistics.
National Vital Statistics
The National Vital Statistics System is the oldest and most successful example of inter-governmental data sharing in Public Health and the shared relationships, standards, and procedures form the mechanism by which NCHS collects and disseminates the Nation's official vital statistics. These data are provided through contracts between NCHS and vital registration systems operated in the various jurisdictions legally responsible for the registration of vital events – births, deaths, marriages, divorces, and fetal deaths.
Policy Agendas Project
The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War.
State of the Cities Data Systems
The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.
States Perform provides users with access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education.
The Supreme Court Database
The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 and 2013 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
The OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Some specialised databases are only available to the University of Auckland staff and students.
Web links are arranged by country, region or subject.
The database can be searched by a single category, or a combination of categories.
Maps and Data
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A digital collection of public-domain maps held by the University of Texas Libraries. This site acts as a historical collection as well as a current collection.
United States Geological Survey
As the Nation's largest water, earth, and biological science and civilian mapping agency, the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems.
Census Bureau: Maps and Data
"Find geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps."
Chat with a librarian