.
HON 322 Mental Health: Implications
WorldCat Discovery
Search WorldCat Discovery to find books--in print or online. For example:
The Stigma of Mental Illness - End of the Story?Publication Date: 2017
- Who Is Contributing?Chapter 6 in The Stigma of Mental Illness - End of the Story?
When searching WorldCat Discovery note the subjects assigned to relevant books. The subjects are usually listed toward the right corner of the screen under "more like this." For the book The Stigma of Mental Illness -- End of Story? click either Mental illness -- Social aspects or Mental illness -- Public opinion to find similar titles.
Try this advanced search for kw:stigma AND su:mental illness. Limit to just Peer Reviewed articles or to just Video instead of Books.
Follow the other search tips on this guide to more thoroughly search for articles and video.
EBSCO Databases
Search each of the EBSCO databases listed here to find articles. Or, go to EBSCOhost and select the databases you want to search. Choose any or all of the following EBSCO databases. For example, search for "mental health" AND stigma. Try adding the Omnifile database and the Social Sciences database. Use the facets in the left column to modify and focus your search. Be sure to check Peer Reviewed for articles that are scholarly. Modify your search terms based on the subjects that are assigned to relevant articles.
Many other databases are listed on the Indexes and Databases page of this LibGuide and other related LibGuides, like Psychology, Social Work, and Nursing. (Be sure to include PubMed in your search. After you have selected an article there, look for the Cedar Crest College logo in the upper right corner of the screen indicating we have subscription access.)
Go to the databases from the library LibGuides or the library website in order to have access to our subscriptions. Do this even for Google Scholar.
If you are off campus, you will be prompted for your EZproxy login. That is the same as your campus network login.
Journals
- Global Mental HealthFrom Cambridge University Press.
Most read and most cited article: Reducing the stigma of mental illness - American Journal of OrthopsychiatryFrom the American Psychological Association, "As the principal publication of the Global Alliance for Behavioral Health and Social Justice, the American Journal of Orthopsychiatry (AJO) reflects the Alliance’s goal of informing policy, practice, and research concerning behavioral health, social justice, and well-being."
E-Journals & Periodicals
Find other journals with this link to our E-Journals & Periodicals database. It includes the keyword search for journals with "mental health" in the title. The selection for Peer Reviewed Journals is already checked.
Remember, if you are off campus, you will be prompted for your EZproxy login. That is the same as your campus network login.
Video
- Alexander Street PressFor example, search for:
mental health stigma
NOTE: you have several choices in the left column, including format (video OR text) and content type like lecture/presentation OR documentary, etc. - Films on DemandFor example, search for:
mental health stigma
GALE Health and Wellness Resource Center
- GALE Health and Wellness Resource CenterFor example, search for:
mental health stigma
Featured Website
- Change DirectionThe Five Signs--Learn the Healthy Habits of emotional well-being and and know the Five Signs that may mean someone is in emotional pain and might need help.
Websites
- Active Minds"Let's change the conversation about mental health."
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality | Topic: Mental HealthU.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- Association for Psychological Science (APS)APS is the leading international organization dedicated to advancing scientific psychology across disciplinary and geographic borders.
- Change DirectionThe Five Signs--Learn the Healthy Habits of emotional well-being and and know the Five Signs that may mean someone is in emotional pain and might need help.
- National Alliance on Mental Illness"change the way the world sees mental health"
#CureStigma, StigmaFree and 9 Ways To Fight Mental Health Stigma - QPR InstituteQuestion. Persuade. Refer.
- WHO Comprehensive mental health action plan 2013–2020World Health Organization (WHO)
WorldCat Discovery and DSM-5
Search WorldCat Discovery for the DSM-5.
American Psychiatric Association, DSM-5 Task Force. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5™ (5th ed.). Arlington, VA, US: American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
See also: How to Cite the DSM–5 in APA Style and Cressman Library LibGuide for APA Style.