Skip to Main Content

Chemistry: Databases

Overview of resources available to chemistry students via Cressman Library.

ezproxy

Access library databases, ebooks, journals, journal articles, and streaming video from off campus.

 

Directions:

1)  select a resource from Databases A-Z or a Research Guide (ex. EBSCOhost)

2)  on the “EzPproxy” login screen

3)  enter your FalconNet username and password

 

NOTE: Your EzPproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.

If you encounter a problem or need assistance email Cressman Library Information Services at libinfo@cedarcrest.edu. Email individual librarians to make a Reference appointment for help with research questions.

EzProxy off campus access to databases

EzProxy screen example

EzProxy directions

Question about a Journal Title?

Search E-Journals & Periodicals Publication Finder to find journals and/or to verify Cressman Library subscriptions. Or, search the WorldCat Discovery A-to-Z Titles list.

While there, find out how to access specific journal titles.
Also, verify Cressman Library holdings, whether online or in print.

Databases

ACS Publications

American Chemical Society publications, not including C&EN.
ACS website demonstrations and tutorials

EBSCOhost

A database of databases; for example, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, OmniFile Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text and several others.

GreenFILE Index

Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment, including scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 375,000 records with Open Access full text for more than 4,500 records.

Science Direct

Scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Select subscribed & complimentary or open access when browsing journals and the green circle next to the article title when searching to indicate full-text access. Short tutorials from ScienceDirect:
1) Performing an advanced search.
2) Browsing journals.
3) Reviewing documents.

Springer Link / Springer Nature / BMC

Scientific, technical and medical (STM) journals, book series, books and reference works. Full-text is indicated by a PDF link. SpringerLink Search Tips

SAGE Journals Online

Over 550 peer reviewed journals. Social Sciences and extensive scientific, technical and medical (STM) coverage.

Taylor & Francis

With open access and partial access to several journals in the Biochemical, Chemical & Physical Sciences. For ebooks, go to Taylor & Francis eBooks

Wiley Online Library

Multidisciplinary collection of resources. life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Now including reference works from Blackwell Reference Online and access to 2,000+ titles. Includes access to journals like Environmental Toxicology, Journal of Applied Toxicology and several more. Search Example in Wiley Online

SciFinder / CAS SciFinder-n

How to Register to Use SciFinder

Registration requires a URL provided by Cedar Crest College Chemical & Physical Sciences Department Faculty to access the SciFinder registration form.

SciFinder

If you are registered, then access SciFinder whether you are on campus or off campus. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log into EZproxy before logging into SciFinder.

Open Access Databases

BioMed Central

Chemistry Central

ChemSpider

DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals

PubMed Central (PMC)

PubMed (includes PubMed Central)

PubMed is PubMed Central (Free PMC articles) and the indexing/abstracting to many, many more articles that do require a subscription. Go to: PubMed with Full Text Finder links to search and find articles the library has access to and/or submit Interlibrary Loan requests for the articles we do not have a subscription for.

PubChem

PubChem image

PubMed with Full Text Finder links

PubMed with Full Text Finder links

Look for the (PubMed Outside Tool) Full Text Finder link indicating our access to full text. If the library does not have access to the full text of an article, though, you will be redirected to WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, to request an Interlibrary Loan.

undefined   undefined

Science.gov

Science.gov

Your Gateway to U.S. Federal Science

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar from the Databases A-Z page or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access.

Google Scholar Search

Google Patent Search

Google Patent Search

 Chat with a librarian