Search UpToDate
- UpToDate
You will be prompted to log into EZproxy to get to UpToDate from both on campus AND off campus.
UpToDate® is an evidence-based clinical decision support system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. With a robust editorial team of world-renowned physician authors, editors and peer reviewers, the most current medical information is synthesized into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. Key features include: Links to Full-Text articles, Medical Calculators, Graphic Searches, and Drugs and Drug interaction information.
- Cedar Crest UpToDate Tip SheetAccessing UpToDate Anywhere in Campus Portal -- First Login for Registration and Returning Users
Supplemental Databases for Nursing, List 1
- BioMed CentralThe Open Access Publisher. (Open access with some restrictions.) For example, BMC Nursing.
- Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsFor full text, look for an Internet Access link.
- ClinicalTrials.gov (Classic site)Try the new site. Clinical Trials (CTG) https://www.clinicaltrials.gov/
What is ClinicalTrials.gov and who uses it?
ClinicalTrials.gov is a website and online database of clinical research studies and information about their results. The purpose of ClinicalTrials.gov is to provide information about clinical research studies to the public, researchers, and health care professionals. - Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)"The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. Most CENTRAL records are taken from bibliographic databases (mainly PubMed and Embase), but records are also derived from other published and unpublished sources, including CINAHL, ClinicalTrials.gov and the WHO's International Clinical Trials Registry Platform." Featuring
Download what is free/open access. For what is not free/open access and Clinical Answers, go to EBM Reviews from Ovid. See list 2. - Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsAbout Cochrane Reviews. Featuring Download what is free/open access. For what is not free/open access and Clinical Answers, go to EBM Reviews from Ovid. See list 2.
- Cochrane Library Advanced SearchWith Search Manager. Medical Terms (MeSH). PICO Search (Beta).
- Digital Commons bepress™ Open Access. Powered by Scholars. Published by Universities.®Nursing Commons. Institutional Repositories.
Open Access theses/dissertations and more. - Google ScholarGoogle Scholar Find It @ Cedar Crest
- Highwire PressBrowse journals that are hosted on the Highwire platform. Look for "free ISSUES" and "free SITE" in the right column. Find a journal title, right click to open a new window and search (for the journal)/within the journal from there. If you find an article you need and it isn't open access, look for the same article in WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, to verify our access and/or to submit an Interlibrary Loan.
- MetaLibSearch across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases, including PubMed. View results by resources and then by table view. In a record, click the PubMed link to see if full text is available there. If you just want PubMed results, try searching PubMed with Full Text Finder links instead.
- PubMed CentralPMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- PubMed (includes PubMed Central)Over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- PubMed for HandheldsPICO, askMEDLINE, and MEDLINE/PubMed for Handhelds.
- PubMed Limited to Nursing JournalsSign in with a personal NCBI account. Then on your search results page, select My NCBI Filters. Choose PROPERTIES, scroll down to SUBSETS. Select Nursing Journals.
- PubMed MeSH (Medical Subject Headings for PubMed)Or, use the Search Tools in EBMR from Ovid for MeSH.
- Sigma Repository"The Sigma Repository (formerly the Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository) is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses around the world. It is an open digital academic and clinical focused service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types. The repository is a resource of Sigma Theta Tau International (Sigma)."
- TripTurning Research Into Practice. Find Evidence Fast.
Includes PICO search... results open in a variety of other databases, such as PubMed, EBSCO DynaMed, Wiley, Medscape, and Wikipedia, to name a few. This link is for the free version of Trip, not Pro. Search WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, or Google Scholar to find out if the library has subscription access to any of the articles that you cannot get to the full text in the free version of Trip.
Download what is free/open access. For what is not free/open access and ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Resources for School Nurses, go to ERIC via Ezproxy to have access to Cressman Library subscriptions.
Nexis Uni
- Nexis Uni (the database formerly known as LexisNexis)Full text access to newspapers, news, newsletters, trade and industry publications, magazines and journals from around the world. Access to company profiles, financial reports, and government transcripts, too.
Note:
Note about searching databases that the library does not subscribe to. Databases that the library does not subscribe to will often index the very same journals that the library does subscribe to and of course others that the library doesn't.
Either way, you may find yourself on a site like Wiley or Science Direct after searching PubMed, Google Scholar, Semantic Scholar or Ingenta Connect and discovering free or open access content there.
If you are on campus, you will be able to continue your search and be able to access free or open access articles there, plus what the library subscribes to. If you are off campus, though, you will need to use the links that the library provides for sites like Wiley, Science Direct, and other similar databases listed on this page in order to be able to retrieve articles that we have a subscription for.
Featured Databases for Nursing, List 2
- BioOneAn indexed and fully searchable collection of abstracts that link to full text articles available from BioOne. BioOne provides over 65 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 100 publishers. These titles are produced by societies and non-commercial publishers; a majority were previously available only in printed form.
- CINAHLLimited to 4 simultaneous users. CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
CINAHL Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. Use CINAHL Subject Headings to more effectively search and retrieve information. - EBSCOhostChoose from over 15 index and full text databases; including CINAHL, Education Full Text, PsycInfo and PsycArticles.
- Evidence Based Medicine Reviews | EBM Reviews from OvidA definitive resource for evidence based medicine (EBM) that combines over 5 of the most trusted EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database, including Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
For MeSH, use Search Tools, Scope Note, and Map Term to Subject Heading. Use Search Tools and Subheadings to focus your search. - OvidSelect resource(s) to search to begin or browse journals by subject by choosing the "Browse Journals" link toward the upper right of the default A-Z listing. Full text access to over 100 journals directly related to nursing. When Ovid Full Text is not available, try the Full Text @ Cedar Crest link.
- PsycInfo and PsycArticlesFrom the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycInfo and PsycArticles are bibliographic databases providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Follow the Full Text Finder links to get to articles in journals that the Cressman Library has subscriptions for.
- PubMed with Full Text Finder links
Look for the (PubMed Outside Tool) Full Text Finder link indicating our access to full text. If the library does not have access to the full text of an article, though, you will be redirected to WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, to request an Interlibrary Loan. - SAGE Journals OnlineFull-text access to over 550 highly cited journals. SAGE Journals Online offers one of the largest lists in the social sciences as well as extensive scientific, technical and medical coverage. Over 20 journals directly related to nursing.
- ScienceDirectJournals “subscribed to Full Text” are noted by the symbol to the left of the alphabetical listing. Full-text access to scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Over 20 journals directly related to nursing, many others related to medicine.
- SLACK (Healio/SLACK)Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services, Journal of Nursing Education, Journal of Gerontological Nursing, Athletic Training & Sports Health Care (OA), The Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing, Health Literacy Research and Practice (OA)
- SpringerLinkFull-text access to scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Over 600 journals related to Medicine & Public Health.
- Taylor & FrancisIncludes full text access to Comprehensive Child and Adolescent Nursing (formerly published as Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing), Issues in Mental Health Nursing, and the Journal of Community Health Nursing. Access to several more journals in Health & Medicine and the Medical Sciences.
- Wiley Online LibraryMultidisciplinary collection of resources. Life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Nursing journals include: Birth, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of Nursing Scholarship and Public Health Nursing.
CINAHL Search
GALE Health & Wellness Resource Center
With access to featured articles in the current issues of these Slack/Healio journals:
Health Literacy Research and Practice
The Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing
Journal of Gerontological Nursing
Journal of Nursing Education
And much more, browse topics in any of several categories: Community Health, Diagnostics and Health, Diseases and Conditions, Drugs, Mental Health, Therapies, Treatments and Surgeries
Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar from Databases A-Z or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access.
WorldCat Discovery, search the library catalog
Search WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog. Search for books, ebooks, media (including streaming video), and journal articles. Search Libraries Worldwide when you use WorldCat Discovery to request an Interlibrary Loan.
Elicit, Research Assistant
Elicit is a research assistant using language models like GPT-3 to automate parts of researchers’ workflows. Currently, the main workflow in Elicit is Literature Review. If you ask a question, Elicit will show relevant papers and summaries of key information about those papers in an easy-to-use table.
EzProxy off campus access to databases
EzProxy and Open Access
Searching the Literature
- Literature Searching for Practice ResearchGerberi, D., & Marienau, M. S. (2017). Literature Searching for Practice Research. AANA Journal, 85(3), 195-204.
Provides useful strategies for thoroughly searching relevant literature.
MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different? What about CINAHL?
- Fact Sheet: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?Notes:
1. MEDLINE, indexed with MeSH/Medical Subject Headings.
2. PubMed, includes the MEDLINE database and more. You will have access to full text articles from PubMed Central (PMC); plus, access to journal articles when Cressman Library has a subscription to the journal title. Also, citations and full-text to NCBI Bookshelf.
3. PubMed Central (PMC), free archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
4. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
What about CINAHL?
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) indexes and abstracts articles from nursing, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. CINAHL uses its own thesaurus terms, but they are related to MeSH headings.
NLM Catalog
PubMed with Full Text Finder links
- PubMed with Full Text Finder linksLook for the (PubMed Outside Tool) Full Text Finder link indicating our access to full text. If the library does not have access to the full text of an article, though, you will be redirected to WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, to request an Interlibrary Loan.
PubMed Citation Matcher
PubMed Clinical Queries
