Research Guides: Nursing: Internet

Internet -- Featured Website -- Fall 2020

NANDA International
The International Nursing Knowledge Association. Defining the Knowledge of Nursing.
"Nursing diagnoses communicate the professional judgments that nurses make every day to our patients, colleagues, members of other disciplines and the public. Nursing diagnoses define what we know – they are our words."

Internet -- Featured Websites -- Summer 2020

Internet -- Featured Website -- Spring 2020

National League for Nursing
"Dedicated to excellence in nursing, the National League for Nursing is the premier organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education."

Internet -- Featured Website -- Spring 2018

Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing
"The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International provides leadership and scholarship in practice, education and research to enhance the health of all people. They support the learning and professional development of their members, who strive to improve nursing care worldwide."

Internet -- Featured Website -- Fall 2017

Featured website: PubMed Health

See, for example, Understanding Clinical Effectiveness:

What is Clinical Effectiveness?
What is a Systematic Review?
Finding Systematic Reviews
Understanding Research Results

Internet -- Featured Editorials/Articles from JAMA on the ACA -- Summer 2016

From JAMA August 2, 2016, Vol 316, No. 5

Editorial: The Affordable Care Act and the Future of US Health Care
Bauchner H. The Affordable Care Act and the Future of US Health Care. JAMA. 2016;316(5):492-493. doi:10.1001/jama.2016.9872.

Includes 16 references.
Author Affiliation: Editor in Chief, JAMA
United States Health Care Reform: Progress to Date and Next Steps
Obama B. United States Health Care Reform: Progress to Date and Next Steps. JAMA. 2016;316(5):525-532. doi:10.1001/jama.2016.9797.

Includes 68 references.
Author Affiliation: President of the United States, Washington, DC
Editorial: US Health Care Reform: Cost Containment and Improvement in Quality
Orszag PR. US Health Care Reform: Cost Containment and Improvement in Quality. JAMA. 2016;316(5):493-495. doi:10.1001/jama.2016.9876.

Includes 19 references.
Author Affiliation: Lazard, New York, NY
Also, former director of the Office of Management and Budget under President Obama.
Editorial: The Future of the Affordable Care Act: Reassessment and Revision
Butler SM. The Future of the Affordable Care Act: Reassessment and Revision. JAMA. 2016;316(5):495-497. doi:10.1001/jama.2016.9881.

Includes 6 references.
Author Affiliation: Brookings Institute, Washington, DC
Also, former director of the Center for Policy Innovation at The Heritage Foundation
Editorial: The Past and Future of the Affordable Care Act
Skinner J, Chandra A. The Past and Future of the Affordable Care Act. JAMA. 2016;316(5):497-499. doi:10.1001/jama.2016.10158.

Includes 19 references.
Author Affiliations: Department of Economics, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire / Dartmouth Institute of Health Policy and Clinical Practice, Geisel School of Medicine, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire / John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Internet -- Featured Websites -- Spring 2016

Featured again! The Cochrane Library. Evidence Based Medicine.

For the library's subscription, go to:

Evidence Based Medicine Reviews | EBM Reviews from Ovid

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. For access to full text look for the open access or free indicator.
Evidence Updates from BMJ (and McMaster University)
Requires free registration.

Look for the PMID link to PubMed in the citation or click to read abstract. Note: Cressman Library access is via OVID not Wiley.

Internet -- Featured Website -- Fall 2015

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

See also:
Environmental Health Perspectives A monthly peer-reviewed journal of research and news published with support from the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Internet -- Featured Website -- Spring 2015

The Cochrane Library
NOTE: Cressman Library has access to Cochrane Library, not from Wiley, but from Ovid. The Ovid and EBMR links are listed under the Indexes and Databases tab on this guide.

Internet -- Featured Website -- Fall 2014

Institute of Medicine (National Academy of Sciences)

Featured website: IOM, Institute of Medicine, of the National Academies

Topics include:

Aging
Biomedical and Health Research
Children, Youth and Families
Diseases
Education
Environmental Health
Food and Nutrition
Global Health
Health Care Workforce
Health Services, Coverage, and Access
Public Health
Quality and Patient Safety
Select Populations and Health Disparities
Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Veterans Health
Women's Health

Internet

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Allentown Health Bureau
American Academy of Nursing
American Association of Colleges of Nursing
American Nurses Association (ANA)
American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
American Psychiatric Nurses Association
American Public Health Association
Bethlehem Health Bureau
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Drug Information Portal - U.S. National Library of Medicine
Hastings Center for Bioethics
Health Care Without Harm
Institute of Medicine (National Academy of Sciences)
International Council on Women's Health Issues - COWHI
Mean Girls of the ER: The Alarming Nurse Culture of Bullying and Hazing
Popular magazine article about nursing incivility.
"It's not only threatening the profession, it's putting patients' lives at risk."
MedlinePlus
Medscape
Latest Medical News, Clinical Trials, Guidelines
Merck Manuals
Links to both the Professional and Consumer versions.
Available in English and Spanish.
Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Infectious Disease Research
National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM)
National Institute of Nursing Research
National League for Nursing
National Library of Medicine Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
National Patient Safety Foundation
National Student Nurses Association
The New York Times - Nursing & Nurses
A free collection of articles about nursing and nurses published in The New York Times.
Office on Women's Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
PDR Health
Free consumer drug and medical information site.
PDR Online
Physician's Desk Reference online version, free for US medical professionals only.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
"... to improve the health and health care of all Americans."
Science.gov - Advanced Search
Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE)
ClinicalTrials.gov
U.S. National Library of Medicine
American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
Association of periOperative Registered Nurses
Association of Rehabilitation Nurses (ARN)

Nursing: Internet