Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Databases: EBSCOhost

A beginner's guide to using and searching Cressman Library's databases

Facets

EBSCOhost has created a great walk-through of how to use facets.  Facets are basically a way that EBSCOhost (and other databases) organize the Result List by source type, subjects, authors, or journals.  Go to the following website to get more information on how these can help your research!

Using Facets

Basic Search

This is the screen that you will see when you begin to search EBSCOhost from the Library's Full Text page.

To begin your search, you can choose a specific database or specific databases to use in your search.  If you select all, note that the databases are in a number of subject areas and your results may not be as concise as you would like.  Just as the page says, check the boxes next to the databases you'd like to search and click Continue.

Databases you can search through EBSCOhost:

Art Index  (H.W. Wilson)

Art Index™ features high-quality indexing of over 600 periodicals, more than 13,000 art dissertations, and almost 200,000 art reproductions, providing examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists.  The database includes a database-specific thesaurus and covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson)

Wilson’s largest biography database has combined the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).  With links to every article focused on any individual in nearly every WilsonWeb database, Biography Reference Bank offers a breadth and depth of information you’ll find in no other biography database.  It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images!

Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Business Abstracts with Full Text™ offers a multitude of business magazines and scholarly journals: this comprehensive database contains the full text of articles from more than 510 key publications dating back to 1995, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.

Business Periodicals Index Retrospective: 1913-1982 (H.W. Wilson)

Business Periodicals Index Retrospective™ 1913-1982  offers a rich compendium of resources on the history of business, from accounts of technological advances and business strategies, marketing triumphs and failures, company profiles and iconic executives.  It is invaluable for research into the broader developments that shape present-day capitalism, from the history of telecommunications to the rise of the global automobile market, and from the building of the international monetary system to the worldwide credit crunch.  This resource contains indexing of more than 1,000 periodicals, with citations to more than 2.5 million articles.

CINAHL

CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.3 million records dating back to 1981.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Search and view the full text of eBooks.

Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Education Full Text™  provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.

General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

General Science Full Text™ provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984. Subject coverage includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and much more.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Humanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.

MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition™ contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database. With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

PsycINFO

The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)

Readers’ Guide Full Text Mega™ includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more.

Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.

Social Work Abstracts

Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.

 

Once you click Continue, you will be taken to this page where you can type your search terms.

This is the top portion of the page.  Here you can type your search terms and begin to limit the search if you so choose. 

The drop down menu that currently says 'Select a Field (optional)' has many options to limit your searching to a specific field:

 

 You can click Search at this time OR you can go to the lower portion of the page to further limit your search results.

 

The lower portion of this screen, called Search Options gives you many choices on how to limit your search.  If you choose to use these options, do so, then click Search.

 

The Results Page

This is the Results page.  This page will list the most relevant items resulting from your search.  The items on the left side of the screen can further refine your search.

 

Next, click on an item you would like to view.

 

This page shows you the information of a specific item.  It will also provide an abstract.  From here, you can view the item as a PDF (left side of the screen) if available, as well as see a detailed record of the item.  On the right side of the screen are ways that you'll be able to share this item such as by printing or e-mailing.  To the bottom left of the screen is the option to find similar results to this item.