Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Databases: Introduction to Databases

A beginner's guide to using and searching Cressman Library's databases

EzProxy

Access library databases, ebooks, journals, journal articles, and streaming video from off campus.

Follow the directions below:

 

1)  select the resource you want to use from a LibGuide or the library website

2)  on the “EzPproxy” login screen

3)  enter your FalconNet username and password

 

NOTE: Your EzPproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.

If you encounter a problem or need assistance email Cressman Library Information Services at libinfo@cedarcrest.edu. Email individual librarians to make a Reference appointment for help with research questions.

What is a Database?

A database is essentially the online electronic catalog of the library's holdings as well as the access point to published works. The library databases provide access to resources on a wide array of subject disciplines and topics. 

Databases are searchable.

Article databases enable you to search through different print resources to find articles on a particular topic.  Some articles will be in the Full Text  format, meaning you are able to read, save, or print out the article immediately. Other articles will only have an abstract (summary) or a citation (basic information about an article) meaning you will have to locate the article in print in the library's holdings or Interlibrary Loan.

Reference databases enable you to search reference information such as statistics, facts, and background information from different sources. These databases are more subject specific and sometimes cover just one discipline. Our ebooks LibGuide will lead you to some of our ebook reference collections.

Databases are usually NOT internet resources! The articles that you find using them usually come from sources also published in print.

To use the databases from off campus, you must be able to log into EZ Proxy. When you select a library resource from off campus, you will be prompted to log into EZ Proxy. This is because the library resources are subscription services paid for by Cedar Crest and not just anyone can have access to them. You will be prompted to log into EZ Proxy once per browser session.

Subject Guide