Education: Journals

Access library databases, ebooks, journals, journal articles, and streaming video from off campus.

Directions:

1)  select a resource from Databases A-Z or a Research Guide (ex. EBSCOhost)

2)  on the “EzPproxy” login screen

3)  enter your FalconNet username and password

NOTE: Your EzPproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.

If you encounter a problem or need assistance email Cressman Library Information Services at libinfo@cedarcrest.edu. Email individual librarians to make a Reference appointment for help with research questions.

Google Scholar is a place to start but make sure you use your professional indexes.  A controlled vocabulary search is often more reliable & less overwhelming than a Google search.

If you use Google for a web search; use Google advanced which gives you more control over the results.  If you limit by Domain you can see the results from goverment sites (.gov), organizations sites (.org), or education sites (.edu). You can also limit by when the site was last updated.

Evaluate sites the way you would evaluate a book or other resource.  Who sponsors it?  When was it last updated?  Who wrote it? Who thinks it is a good site? Typing "Link: " then the sites address in the Google search bar should result in a list of sites that links to that particular web-page.  Who points to it will tell you something about the usefulness of the page.

Google Scholar 

Google Advanced Search

Google Advanced Search -- Example, Search ERIC via Google with an advanced search!

Search tips to maximize & limit results How to get the most out of Google without drowning in the results.

Manchester University - Education - Search Terms

If you already have a citation, use Google Scholar or WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog.

If you have the DOI, go to the DOI System. Use the link given here or from Databases A-Z so you have access to library subscriptions.

Interested in STEM? Check out the open journal Frontiers for Young Minds.

What happens when young, curious minds connect directly with scientists? Frontiers for Young Minds, is a journal written by scientists for young audiences. Young readers review the articles and provide the authors with feedback before publication!

• Pennsylvania Teacher Educator, search for articles in Google Scholar

 A Pennsylvania Association of Colleges and Teacher Educator (PAC-TE) journal.

• Hybrid Pedagogy: the journal of critical digital pedagogy 

  "Hybrid Pedagogy: the journal of critical digital pedagogy is a community, a conversation, a collaboration, a school, and a journal. It is a place to discuss critical digital pedagogy by advocating for students and fostering awareness of academic hierarchies. We work together to enact an understanding of co-teaching within a community of mutual respect. Hybrid Pedagogy is centered on praxis — the blend of theory and practice that develops with experience and reflection."

• Education and Urban Society 

  Featured article in Education and Urban Society: Connecting Universal Design for Learning With Culturally Responsive Teaching

• Transformations: The Journal of Inclusive Scholarship and Pedagogy 

  "Transformations: The Journal of Inclusive Scholarship and Pedagogy is a peer-reviewed interdisciplinary forum for pedagogical scholarship exploring intersections of identities, power, and social justice. The journal features a range of approaches, from theoretical articles to creative and experimental accounts of pedagogical innovations, from teachers and scholars from all areas of education. The mission of Transformations is to bridge the gaps between scholarship and teaching, between K-12, higher education, and teaching in non-institutional venues, between the classroom and the world."

• Literacy Research: Theory, Method, and Practice 

  SAGE: 2015 - present

• Journal of Literacy Research 

  SAGE: 1999 - present

• Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education 

  "Established in 2000, Contemporary Issues in Technology and Teacher Education (CITE Journal) is an open-access, peer-reviewed publication of the Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education (SITE) and is co-sponsored by four other teacher education associations. It is an interactive electronic journal, capable of incorporating into its articles video, sound, animated images, and simulations, as well as ongoing dialog about issues that advance the field." Indexed in ERIC.

• Educational Theory

  Wiley Online Library: 1997 - present

Sponsored by the educational organizations The John Dewey Society for the Study of Education and Culture, The Philosophy of Education Society and more 

To familiarize yourself with the literature in the field of Education, 1) start your search in a journal that is relevant to your topic or 2) go to the Databases page of this guide and search an Education database. While searching an Education database, you will find many articles in many Education related journals.

• American Educational Research Journal SAGE
• Child Development Wiley
• Clearing House: A Journal of Educational Strategies, Issues and Ideas Taylor & Francis
• Early Childhood Education SpringerNature
• Education and Information Technologies SpringerNature
• Education and Urban Society SAGE
• Educational and Psychological Measurement SAGE
• Educational Leadership EBSCO Education Full Text
• Educational Psychology Review SpringerNature
• Educational Researcher SAGE
• Elementary School Journal, The Univ. of Chicago Press
• English Journal National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE):
• Equity & Excellence in Education Taylor & Francis
• Harvard Educational Review Allen Press
• Journal of Educational and Behavioral Statistics SAGE
• Journal of Educational Psychology EBSCO APA PsycArticles
• Journal of Educational Research Taylor & Francis
• Language Arts National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
• Reading Research Quarterly Wiley
• Reading Teacher Wiley
• Review of Educational Research SAGE
• Sociology of Education SAGE
• Theory and Research in Education SAGE
• Urban Education SAGE

Continue your search for journal titles, go to EBSCO E-Journals & Periodicals Publicaton Finder to find journals and/or to verify our access.

If you are off campus ERIC will go through EzProxy so that if we have access to an article via an ERIC "direct link" you will be able to retrieve the full text without having to re-look the article up in a library database. Warning: Direct links that are openly available sometimes take you out of EzProxy.

Be sure cedarcrestcollege.idm.oclc.org is part of the URL when you are searching from off campus and need access to what we subscribe to.