.
Cressman Library and Open Access
Many of the library subscription databases include results with links to open access journals and articles, in addition to what the library subscribes to. Many examples are listed here, along with sites that are entirely free and open access. You may find this page to be especially useful when you have time for browsing.
Open Access Journals
Along with the thousands of journals the Cressman Library subscribes to, many of our databases include indexing, abstracting and full text to peer reviewed open access journals. This page lists databases to open access journals that aren't part of a library subscription. (UPDATE: Links are now included on this Research Guide to library databases that do also provide open access).
PubMed will also link out to journals the library subscribes to. On the article abstract page, follow the full text links in the upper right corner of the page. If the library has access, these links will work. Be sure to access PubMed from the library website or a Research Guide, though. Try PubMed w/Full Text Finder links.
Nelson Memo
Whitehouse.gov Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) Ensuring Free, Immediate, and Equitable Access to Federally Funded Research, aka The Nelson Memo, "to make publications and their supporting data resulting from federally funded research publicly accessible without an embargo on their free and public release."
(Questions to ask, Why did the Nelson Memo become controversial?)
Open Access | Green, Gold, Hybrid
Open Scholarship Initiative (OSI)
What does Open Access mean?
Open Access | DIAMOND
HELIOS
"The Higher Education Leadership Initiative for Open Scholarship (HELIOS Open) is a cohort of colleges and universities committed to collective action to advance open scholarship within and across their campuses. Leaders from US colleges and universities have joined this community of practice, working together to promote a more transparent, inclusive, and trustworthy research ecosystem."
TSPOA
TSPOA
Transitioning Society Publications to OA
Society Publishers with Open Access Journals
Transformative Journals
CHORUS
advancing open access to research
cOAlition S
a European Science Foundation initiative
with information about Diamond Open Access
JOURNAL CHECKER TOOL
(for the publishing options that are supported by your funder’s OA policy)
PubMed with Full Text Finder links
PubMed and PubMed Central
(Open Access and subscription)
PubMed also links out to journals the library subscribes to. On the article abstract page, follow the full text links in the upper right corner. If the library has access, these links will work. Be sure to access PubMed from the library website or a Research Guide, though.
Better yet, search PubMed w/Full Text Finder links.
- PubMed with Full Text Finder linksLook for the Full Text Finder logo indicating whether or not we have full text access to an article. If the library does not have access to the full text of an article, you will be redirected to WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, to request an Interlibrary Loan.
Questioning the integrity of a journal?
- Predatory Journals and Publishers: Is the Journal or Publisher Predatory?LibGuide at Bowling Green State University.
- Predatory Publishing LibGuideLibGuide at George Washington University.
and...
- Retraction Watch Mass Resignations ListWhen editorial boards resign from well-recognized journals enmasse to launch an OA journal elsewhere... often because of disagreements over OA policies.
Humanities, open access
- Open Library of the Humanities OLH, DIAMOND Open Access with titles like,
The Comics Grid: Journal of Comics Scholarship
Open Screens, the official journal of the British Association of Film, Television and Screen Studies
Sciences, open access databases and/or publishers
- Bentham Open"Opening Access to Science."
- Brill Open Access Biology JournalsContributions to Zoology
International Journal of Wood Culture
Timing & Time Perception Reviews - FrontiersOpen-access journals across all of academia, covering hundreds of specialty areas in Science, Health, Technology, Engineering as well as Humanities and Social Sciences, and is one of the largest and fastest-growing open-access publishers worldwide.
- Knowledge UnlatchedScroll through the Knowledge Unlatched (KU) collection of journals. Interested in reading articles from one of the journals? Click through to the journal website for current issues and more.
- Mary Ann Liebert, Inc.Open access to BioResearch Open Access, Cannabis and Cannabinoid Research, Health Equity, Healthcare Transformation, Journal of Endourology Case Reports, Journal of Pancreatic Cancer, Surgical Infections Case Reports, Systems Medicine, and Transgender Health.
- MedknowOpen Access from Wolters Kluwer. Peer-reviewed articles in over 400 medical society journals in over 40 specialties with a focus on emerging markets. Access Medknow journal articles while searching our Ovid database--select "Journals@Ovid Full Text" and look for Open Access Results highlighted in the right column.
- Microbiology SocietyThe Microbiology Society's founding journal, Microbiology is now fully Open Access, along with much more. Search from their homepage or Browse Collections and look for Open Access and Free Content.
- Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI)Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI) is an academic open-access publisher. MDPI publishes 188 diverse peer-reviewed, scientific, open access, electronic journals.
- Nature journals that are open accessThis page goes to a listing of Nature Research Open Access journals and provides info for publishing an Open Access article. Use the list to browse, click the journal title. On the journal title page note the databases the journal is indexed in and from there go to the journal website.
- Oxford University Press journals that are open access or freeOpen Access and Free search limiters are selected in the lower left column.
- PLOS"PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Research in published articles is rigorously reported, peer reviewed and immediately available to everyone completely free of restrictions, promoting the widest readership and impact possible."
- PLOS ONE"The world’s first multidisciplinary Open Access journal, PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE’s broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research, including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results. The journal’s publication criteria are based on high ethical standards and the rigor of the methodology and conclusions reported."
- PubMedOver 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites with open access. All others will require subscription access. For Cedar Crest Cressman Library subscriptions look for LinkOut access. PubMed LinkOut with CCC holdings is now available.
- PubMed CentralPMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Science.govYour Gateway to U.S. Federal Science. Topics include Biology & Nature, Earth & Ocean Sciences, Environment & Environmental Quality, Natural Resources & Conservation
- SciTechnol"SciTechnol is an innovative platform that encourages multidisciplinary, peer reviewed international journals committed to promote research in the fields of science and technology. It encourages scientific research by disseminating the researched outcome in vast areas of pure and applied sciences by offering a hybrid publication model that allows the researchers to publish through open access as well as subscription modes."
- SpringerOpen"The SpringerOpen portfolio has grown tremendously since its launch in 2010, so that we now offer researchers from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences a place to publish open access in journals."
For Cressman Library subscription access, go to SpringerLink - Wiley Open AccessSee also: Knowledge Unlatched
To access the journals the library also subscribes to and indexing/abstracting of other Wiley journals, use this link instead: Wiley Online
See also:
AAAS The journal Science Advances is entirely open access. Other AAAS journals are available with free registration with access from 1997 to current, but with a 1 yr. embargo.
Royal Society Royal Society Open Science and Open Biology are full open access. Other Royal Society journals are open as of issues that are from 10 years ago with either an approximately 1 year (for biological sciences) or approximately 2 year (for physical sciences) embargo on more current issues.
Sciences, featured open access journal
- FACETSFrom Canadian Science Publishing
Life Sciences, featured open access journal
- Life Science AllianceLife Science Alliance is a global, open-access, editorially independent, and peer-reviewed journal launched by an alliance of EMBO Press, Rockefeller University Press, and Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press.
Available as of January 2018.
Medicine, featured open access journal from JAMA
- JAMA Network OpenFirst issue expected to be April 2018.
Mathematics, open/partial open access database, Project Euclid
- Project Euclid: Mathematics and Statistics onlineProject Euclid is a joint venture between Duke University Press and the Cornell University Library. There is a 5-year embargo on Annals of Functional Analysis, Banach Journal of Mathematical Analysis, Kyoto Journal of Mathematics, Nagoya Mathematical Journal, Notre Dame Journal of Formal Logic. Look for the checkmark in green.
- Project Euclid: Mathematics and Statistics online--browse by disciplineLook for the yellow circle for partial access. Look for the checkmark in green for open access.
- Project Euclid: Mathematics and Statistics online--open access title listThe complete holdings of the listed publications are currently accessible to any Project Euclid user without a subscription or site license.
- Acta MathematicaProject Euclid: 1882-present
- Free Journal NetworkOver 35 Open Access Mathematics journals.
Psychology, featured open access journals
- Collabra / Collabra: PsychologyFrom University of California Press (UC Press).
Also, available via DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals. - PsychOpenThe European Open-Access Publishing Platform for Psychology
Humanities and Social Sciences, open access journals
- Brill Open JournalsBrill is a publishing house with over three centuries of scholarly publishing. All journals are hybrid/open access. This page goes to the Brill list of full open access journals.
Discover Brill Open Access journal articles and book chapters.
Many subjects, open access
- arXiv.org (via Cornell University)PRE-PRINTS. Open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
- ProQuest Publicly Available DatabaseIn the filters, select Publicly Available Content Database. Content includes open access journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports. To browse by publication, go to https://www.proquest.com/publicationbrowse/
- Ingenta ConnectFor Open Access, enter your search terms, pull open the Search by menu and select OA titles.
- Ubiquity Press, open scholarship"Ubiquity Press was founded by researchers at University College London (UCL) in 2012. We believe that the aim of academic publishing should be the widest possible dissemination of research, and are therefore 100% open access."
- VeriXIVVeriXiv on F1000, which is is wholly owned by Taylor & Francis, will support researchers in complying with the Gates Foundation’s refreshed open access policy which requires all their funded research to be published as a preprint from January 2025.
(4) Open Journals (theoj.org)
- Open JournalsThe Journal of Open Source Software · http://joss.theoj.org
The Journal of Open Source Education · http://jose.theoj.org
The Open Journal of Astrophysics · http://astro.theoj.org
The Journal of Brief Ideas · http://briefideas.org
All 4 Open Journals run on open source software. Available at GitHub: https://github.com/openjournals
Sponsored by NumFOCUS
The Scholarly Kitchen, a post on Open Access in the Sciences
Are We Providing What Researchers Need in the Transition to Open Science?
Erika Pastrana, Editorial Director for the Nature Portfolio and Open Science lead at Springer Nature, and Simon Adar, co-founder of Code Ocean, write about the inner workings and the adoption of versus the resistance to open science practices in the scholarly science community.