Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Getting Started

Getting Started

Books

History of Criminal Justice

Covering criminal justice history on a cross-national basis, this book surveys criminal justice in Western civilization and American life chronologically from ancient times to the present. It is an introduction to the historical problems of crime, law enforcement and penology, set against the background of major historical events and movements.

Interface : a guide for professionals supporting the criminal justice system

Interface: A Guide for Professionals Supporting the Criminal Justice System explains the system, provides the reader with guidance to documenting incidents so that the data is both of value to the professional in the future and for use by the other components of the system.

Predictive Policing : The Role of Crime Forecasting in Law Enforcement Operations

Predictive policing is the use of analytical techniques to identify targets for police intervention with the goal of preventing crime, solving past crimes, or identifying potential offenders and victims. This guide assesses some of the most promising technical tools and tactical approaches for acting on predictions in an effective way.

The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America: An Encyclopedia

Thus, this five-volume work surveys the history and philosophy of crime, punishment, and criminal justice institutions in America from colonial times to the present.

Recommended Databases

CQ Researcher
A resource providing comprehensive and unbiased overviews, reporting, and analysis of current social and political issues and debates.

Includes topical weekly reports, pro/con debate pages, an issue tracker, and the CQ Researcher Archive dating back to 1923.
FORENSICnetBASE/LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE
Collection of eBooks from Taylor & Francis with essential references on subjects including crisis management and negotiation methods, arson and homicide investigation, expert witnessing, and forensic pathology.
Our World in Data
A free and openly accessible database whose mission is to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems." Our World in Data is a project of the Global Change Data Lab and the University of Oxford.
Social Sciences Full Text
Access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.

Recommended Journals

American Journal of Criminal Justice
The American Journal of Criminal Justice, the official journal of the Southern Criminal Justice Association, is a peer reviewed publication; manuscripts go through a blind review process. ... The American Journal of Criminal Justice publishes original articles that utilize a broad range of methodologies and perspectives when examining crime, law, and criminal justice processing.
coverage: 1997 - present
Criminal Justice and Behavior
Criminal Justice and Behavior promotes scholarly evaluations of assessment, classification, prevention, intervention, and treatment programs to help the correctional professional develop successful programs based on sound and informative theoretical and research foundations. Publishing timely, well-conceived, and lively scholarship, Criminal Justice and Behavior advances the knowledge and expertise of professionals and academics involved in forensic psychology, with a concentration on correctional psychology.
coverage: 1979 - present
Criminology & Public Policy
Criminology & Public Policy is the premier policy journal of the American Society of Criminology. It is devoted to rigorous research and critical discussions of criminal justice policies and practices. The central objective of the journal is to strengthen the role of research findings in the formulation and implementation of crime and justice policy and practice by publishing empirically based, policy-focused articles. The journal is interdisciplinary and international in its scope.
coverage: 1997 - present
Journal of Quantitative Criminology
The Journal of Quantitative Criminology focuses on research advances from such fields as statistics, sociology, geography, political science, economics, and engineering.
coverage: 1997 - present

Professional Associations

Study Help

Study Skills for Criminology by John Harrison; Mark Simpson; Olwen Harrison; Emma Martin
Publication Date: 2011

The new edition of this best-selling study skills book provides a practical guide for success for students at every level of their study in criminology or criminal justice degree. Fully-revised and thoroughly updated to reflect changes in the curriculum, the book continues to provide students with practical and relevant information for their degree including topics on: choosing courses, sourcing and researching, applying theory to practice, writing essays, presentation skills, revision, taking exams, and careers after your degree.