Go to Full-Text Publication Finder to see the full list of journals, newspapers, and magazines offered through Cressman Library.
EzProxy off campus access to databases
Related Guides
Evaluating Journals Toolkit
- Google Scholar Journal RankingsJournal rankings by discipline based on citation metrics
- Research ImpactA LibGuide on evaluating journal impact from Kennesaw State University.
- Scimago Journal & Country RankAn interactive tool for comparing journal metrics.
News Databases
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowThe experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.
- Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new windowThe experience and impact of Latinx & Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media.
- NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Indexes and Collections
- East View Global Press Archivehistorical Middle Eastern and North African news archive
- EuroTopicsCoverage of Europe
- States NewsroomState government news outlets from the United States
Evaluating News Toolkit
- Reporters without Borders"Reporters Without Borders (RSF) is the world’s biggest NGO specializing in the defense of media freedom, which we regard as the basic human right to be informed and to inform others."
To find articles matching your search terms, limit search results to Articles from Format options. To find journals matching your search terms, limit search results to Journals from Format options. For best results, use the subject field of advanced search to find journals in your research area.
As newspapers are classified as general coverage, the library catalog is not the best tool for finding newspaper articles. However, it can be used to find secondary and tertiary analysis. For best results, use kw: (your topic) AND su: (news coverage).
If you know the title of the publication, enter it directly in the search bar. Or, browse by discipline at the lower part of the Publication Finder page. To browse newspapers, select General Works from the subjects list and filter for Newspapers. For newspapers, use the new Publication Finder database instead of the search box below.
Search Google Scholar from Databases A-Z or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access to an article.
American Journal of Political Science
The American Journal of Political Science (AJPS) publishes research in all major areas of political science including American politics, public policy, international relations, comparative politics, political methodology, and political theory. Founded in 1956, the AJPS publishes articles that make outstanding contributions to scholarly knowledge about notable theoretical concerns, puzzles or controversies in any subfield of political science.
American Political Science Review
American Political Science Review is political science's premier scholarly research journal, providing peer-reviewed articles and review essays from subfields throughout the discipline. Areas covered include political theory, American politics, public policy, public administration, comparative politics, and international relations. APSR has published continuously since 1906.
Perspectives on Political Science
Articles covering ideas and theories concerning politics; essays on the state of the profession, on the application of social science concepts to the study of politics; occasional symposia on educational matters of interest.
A nonpartisan journal devoted to the study of contemporary and historical aspects of government, politics and international affairs.
Political Science Reviewer (abstracts only)
The Political Science Reviewer is a beacon in the often-murky world of professional political science journals. Unencumbered by any of the reigning orthodoxies, the PSR welcomes the evidence of empirical study, but upholds the primacy of theoretical understanding. The PSR is an annual journal featuring essay-length reviews of classic and contemporary studies in law and politics, as well as examinations of leading political science textbooks. Each review provides in-depth evaluation without a narrow, over-specialized focus.
PS: Political Science & Politics
PS: Political Science & Politics provides critical analyses of contemporary political phenomena and is the journal of record for the discipline of political science reporting on research, teaching, and professional development. PS, begun in 1968, is the only quarterly professional news and commentary journal in the field and is the prime source of information on political scientists' achievements and professional concerns.
Leading Arab media outlet based in Qatar
The news outlet of the British Broadcasting Corporation
National Public Radio
If you are registering from off campus, enter your campus network login on the EZproxy login screen. Your EZproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login. Once your registration is complete, go directly to nytimes.com from any web-enabled device (or download the app) and use your unique NYT login. You will not need to go through EZproxy again (except once annually to renew).
American political news
The Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition
Business and economics-focused news published by Dow Jones
- Planet Moneyan NPR podcast
- The Wall Street Journal, Eastern editionBusiness and economics-focused news published by Dow Jones
- PoliticoAmerican political news
- Reuters: Politics & Political NewsThomson Reuters is the world's largest international multimedia news agency. Thomson Reuters journalists are subject to an Editorial Handbook which requires fair presentation and disclosure of relevant interests.
- Atlanta Journal-ConstitutionAtlanta, GA
- The Baltimore SunBaltimore, MD
- Philadelphia InquirerPhiladelphia, PA
- Pittsburgh Post-GazettePittsburgh, PA
- Star TribuneNewspaper of the Twin Cities (Minneapolis, MN)
International Coverage
International Outlets
- Daily DispatchEast London, South Africa)
- Baltic News Servicebased in Latvia, covers eastern Europe
- Irish Times(Dublin, Ireland)
- South China Morning PostHong Kong
- Times of IndiaMumbai, India