YouTube Videos for PICO
How to use PICO for Evidence Based Research
Outline the concepts of your PICO search with this video from Binghamton Univsersity Libraries
PICO Searches in CINAHL w/PICO SEARCH GRID
Have a PICO question? Prepare your search strategy ahead of time with this video from Purdue University Northwest.
YouTube videos from the PICO page of the Nursing Research Guide.
Literature Reviews vs. Systematic Reviews
- Literature Reviews vs. Systematic ReviewsRobinson P, Lowe J. Literature reviews vs systematic reviews. Aust N Z J Public Health. 2015;39(2):103. doi:10.1111/1753-6405.12393
Then what is a Systematic Literature Review? The term systematic literature review is sometimes used interchangeably with literature review since ideally a literature review is conducted systematically. However, when evidence based practice and statistics become part of the picture and a research article is referred to as a systematic literature review, the two are often confused. If the article is, in fact, an empirical study of other primary research--a research study of research studies, then the term systematic review (or meta-analysis) should be looked for instead.
What's the Difference... and Why It Matters
The Difference Between a Systematic Review and a Literature Review and Why It Matters
Kysh, Lynn. Difference between a systematic review and a literature review. Figshare. 2013. https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.766364.v1
Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis
- Systematic Reviews and Meta-analysis: Understanding the Best Evidence...Gopalakrishnan S, Ganeshkumar P. Systematic reviews and meta-analysis: understanding the best evidence in primary healthcare. J Family Med Prim Care. 2013;2(1):9-14. doi:10.4103/2249-4863.109934
"A systematic review is a summary of the medical literature that uses explicit and reproducible methods to systematically search, critically appraise, and synthesize on a specific issue. It synthesizes the results of multiple primary studies related to each other by using strategies that reduce biases and random errors. To this end, systematic reviews may or may not include a statistical synthesis called meta-analysis, depending on whether the studies are similar enough so that combining their results is meaningful."
PICO and search strategy
Search strategy will vary depending on how firm your PICO question is.
Have you already been given a PICO question by your professor or preceptor? Do you already have a research article and want to find others like it? Or, are you developing a new PICO question and need to find what direction the research has taken on a particular topic?
Librarian Contact Information
Sheri Schneider
sheri.schneider@cedarcrest.edu
Cressman Library, Rm 304
EzProxy off campus access to databases
databases w/ Nutrition journals, for example:
Nutrition journals indexed in CINAHL, for example:
journal title and # of articles
Search PubMed with Full Text Finder links for access to the library subscriptions and much more
PsycArticles/PsycInfo | Nutrition journals indexed in the APA databases, for example:
journal title and # of articles
Nutrition journals indexed in Science Direct, for example: journal title (# of articles)
Nutrition journals at SpringerLink / SpringerNature, for example:
|
International Journal of Behavioral Nutrition and Physical Activity |
Nutrition journals indexed in General Science (EBSCO), for example:
journal title and # of articles
Nutrition journals at Wiley, for example:
Journal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics
Journal of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, JPEN
Molecular Nutrition & Food Research
Nutrition in Clinical Practice
Journal of the Science of Food and Agriculture
Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism
Library Resources for Nutrition
- American Society for Nutrition journals and AMA citationsFind out if the library has access to a particular journal.
- From one article, find others that are systematic reviewsDetermine keywords and subject headings. Search with controlled vocabulary and/or the latest jargon. Where to look for keywords? The article title, abstracts, and where else? Once you have a systematic review on your topic, what keywords did the authors use to perform their review? How do those keywords compare to yours?
- Abstract only and cannot get to the PDF? If the PDF is not on Google Scholar, then request an ILLAbstract access only? Check Google Scholar before requesting an ILL. Search PubMed w/ Full Text Finder links for a shortcut to the ILL form.
FALL 2021
- 2021 FALL NTR Library Databases List etcIncludes a search strategy for browsing the CINAHL Instrumentation index.
Tips for limiting a CINAHL search to articles that are Meta-Analyses and Systematic Reviews on the last page.
For example:
- PubMed Filters for Article Type
Explore relevant terminology with CINAHL Subject Headings. To help define your terminology refer to the Scope Notes.
Nutrition Research PPTs
- 2019-2020 Nutrition DI Orientation introduction PPTPPT with notes. View with notes. Includes additional slides for the following:
Sample search in CINAHL.
Interlibrary Loan example.
CINAHL Subject Headings.
PubMed MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). - 2019-2020 Nutrition DI Orientation follow-up PPTPPT with notes. View with notes. Search for a given article.
The Effect of Daily Fortified Yogurt Consumption on Weight Loss in Adults with Metabolic Syndrome. First author: Mohammadi-Sartang.
Search in CINAHL. Search in PubMed.
Use the assigned subjects and keywords to search for other relevant articles.
Take a few minutes to reflect on the fact that the Search & Retrieval process requires both Divergent Thinking and Convergent Thinking. Watch the John Spencer YouTube video (1:51 minutes).
EzProxy and Subscription Access vs. Open Access
- Database URLs EzProxy and Open AccessOpen Access resources sometimes do, but usually do not, go through EzProxy. This may include links the library provides.
If you find you are navigating between open access resources; that is, including resources that would otherwise be freely available on the open web and Cressman Library subscriptions, watch the URLs in the address bar to be sure you are still within EzProxy when you need to be. Download this document for more information.
PubMed with Full Text Finder links
- PubMed with Full Text Finder linksLook for the (PubMed Outside Tool) Full Text Finder link indicating our access to full text. If the library does not have access to the full text of an article, though, you will be redirected to WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, to request an Interlibrary Loan.
EBSCOhost CINAHL quick search overview
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Manual
- Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis ManualDownload templates for Primary Research.
Download templates for Literature Reviews.
Includes Quality Criteria Checklists.