Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access library databases, ebooks, journals, journal articles, and streaming video from off campus.
Follow the directions below:
1) select a resource from a Research Guide or the library website
2) on the “EzPproxy” login screen
3) enter your FalconNet username and password
NOTE: Your EzPproxy login is the same as your Campus Network login (FalconNet); also, your Canvas login and your Email login--without the @cedarcrest.edu. It is NOT your My CedarCrest login.
If you encounter a problem or need assistance email Cressman Library Information Services at firstname.lastname@example.org. Email individual librarians to make a Reference appointment for help with research questions.
Searching Databases for Journal Articles?!
Download the Search & Retrieval Tips to refer to while you are searching!
Start with these databases
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
TIP: On the advanced search screen, select NUTRITION in the Special Interest box.
The Open Access Publisher. (Open access with some restrictions.) For example, BMC Nutrition
. Now part of Springer Nature.
Choose from over 15 index and full text databases, including CINAHL, Education Full Text and General Science Full Text.
Nutrition Evidence Library (NEL)
From the United Stated Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Select resource(s) to search to begin. Journals "Subscribed to Full Text" are noted by the symbol to the left of the alphabetical listing. Browse journals by subject by choosing the "Browse Journals" link toward the upper right of the default A-Z listing.
Oxford University Press Journals
With subscription access and/or open access to articles from the American Society for Nutrition journals and more.
PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES
From the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO is a bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.You must go through the EBSCOhost platform to access these resources. It is especially valuable for research on a variety of eating disorders. Select BOTH PsycInfo and PsycArticles. Be certain to use the drop-down subject heading aide!
PubMed Central is a free digital repository from the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) that archives publicly accessible full text scholarly articles from biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
See PubMed Tools (center column) and Clinical Queries.
PubMed with Full Text Finder links
Look for the (PubMed Outside Tool) Full Text Finder link indicating our access to full text. If the library does not have access to the full text of an article, though, you will be redirected to WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, to request an Interlibrary Loan.
SAGE Journals Online
Over 550 peer reviewed journals. Social Sciences and extensive scientific, technical and medical (STM) coverage.
Scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. The "green key" when browsing journals and the green square next to the article title when searching indicate full-text. When browsing journals, the journals can be limited to Nutrition. When searching the entire database, limit to Nursing and Health Professions.
SpringerLink (Springer Nature)
Scientific, technical and medical (STM) journals, book series, books and reference works. Full-text is indicated by a PDF link. Limit to the subdiscipline Nutrition.
Wiley Online Library
Multidisciplinary collection of resources. Life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Now including Reference works from Blackwell Reference Online and access to over 1,800 journal titles.
The Cressman Library main catalog. Search for books, ebooks, media (including streaming video), and journal articles. Use WorldCat Discovery to request an Interlibrary Loan. Search Libraries Worldwide.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
See also: MDPI (Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute)
Journal title questions and finding an article when you already have a journal article citation
A few of the library databases let you limit your search to scholarly journals. CINAHL lets you limit your search to peer reviewed journals. CINAHL also indicates that an article is peer reviewed in the detailed record -- see journal subset.
Many of the library databases are entirely scholarly like SAGE Journals, for example. When in doubt, whether or not an article is peer reviewed or refereed, look for the "about this journal" section on the journal title webpage.
MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different? What about CINAHL?
Fact Sheet: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?
1. MEDLINE, indexed with MeSH/Medical Subject Headings.
2. PubMed, includes the MEDLINE database and more. You will have access to full text articles from PubMed Central (PMC); plus, access to journal articles when Cressman Library has a subscription to the journal title. Also, citations and full-text to NCBI Bookshelf.
3. PubMed Central (PMC), free archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
4. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will see only MEDLINE citations in your results.
What about CINAHL?
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) indexes and abstracts articles from nursing, biomedical, and consumer health journals, as well as publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. CINAHL uses its own thesaurus terms, but they are related to MeSH headings.