The item record describes the content of an eBook. Start by reading the abstract or description; it summarizes what the book is about. They are often written by the author or publisher. Next, check out the categories, subjects, or tags. These are assigned by the database to group it with similar items. Previewing these parts of the eBook helps to make sure that you are choosing the right material for your research.
Many database eReaders have interactive features. Bookmark pages, highlight, and take notes as you read. Search within to find quotes or specific information.
Reference books are made to be readily referred to for information, like facts, instructions, or more information. Entries are organized alphabetically, chronologically, or by subject. Common examples include dictionaries, encyclopedias, and manuals. Reference Databases are online catalogs of reference material. Some databases at Cressman Library are reference eBooks and others contain reference collections.
A resource providing comprehensive and unbiased overviews, reporting, and analysis of current social and political issues and debates.
eBook database containing encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a wide range of subjects.
eBooks from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Companions in a wide range of subjects.
An online collection of reference materials including critical insights into works of literature, history materials, and career and business resources.
Many eBook readers have built-in citation generators. Always double-check that these are correct using a citation manual.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Subtitle of work. Publisher Name. DOI (if available)
Edited Books
Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of work: Subtitle of work. (E. Editor, Ed.). Publisher. DOI (if available)
Book in a series
Author, A. (Year). Title of book (# ed.). Publisher. DOI or URL
Chapter of an edited book
Author, A., Authors, B. (Year) Title of book chapter: Subtitle of book chapter. In A. A. Author, B. Author, & C. C. Author (Eds.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. page range). Publisher. DOI or URL.
Volume of a multi-part work
Editor, A. A., & Editor, B. B. (Eds.). (2018). Title of Volume (# ed., Vol. #). Publisher. DOI or URL
Basic Format for Books
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date, Location.
Edited Books
Last Name, First Name, editor. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date, Location.
To cite a portion of a book, cite the selection first and then the entire text second.
Author. Title. Title of container (do not list container for standalone books, e.g. novels), Other contributors (translators or editors), Version (edition), Number (vol. and/or no.), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (pages, paragraphs URL or DOI). 2nd container’s title, Other contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication date, Location, Date of Access (if applicable).
Chapter in an anthology
Last name, First name. "Title of Essay." Title of Collection, edited by Editor's Name(s), Publisher, Year, Page range of entry
Reference book entry
"Entry title." Title of Reference Book. # ed. Date.
A Volume in a Series
Volume Title. Series Title. Edited by A. A. Author, vol. #, Publisher, Date, Location
Chicago Manual of Style, The
by
Basic Format for Books
Last name, First name. Year of Publication. Title of Book. Publisher.
Edited Books
Last Name, First Name, ed., Year of Publication. Title of Book. Publisher.
eBooks
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher: Place of Publication, Year of Publication. Database Name or DOI.
Book in a series
Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Series Title. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.
Chapter of an edited book
Last Name, First Name. Year or Publication. “Chapter Title.” In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, Publisher.
A volume in a multivolume work
Last Name, First Name. Title of Series. Vol. #, Title of Volume, edited by First Name Last Name. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.
