JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. The library has subscription access directly at JSTOR to a few journal titles. Some of the links will also redirect to Project Muse. Search EBSCOhost MLA International Bibliography, too, for Cressman Library access to certain other JSTOR journals. Beyond that, independent researchers are able to register for a free JSTOR account, because most--but, not all--articles are available to Read Online with a personal account. Up to 6 articles per month. Personal JSTOR accounts are available for independent researchers, or individuals who are not affiliated with a school, organization, or library.
JSTOR, read online (free)
- "The Exhibition of "The Eight": Its History and Significance."Homer, William Innes. "The Exhibition of "The Eight": Its History and Significance." American Art Journal 1, no. 1 (1969): 53-64. doi:10.2307/1593854.
The library does have issues of American Art Journal in print, but not 1969. Register for a MyJSTOR account. With a MyJSTOR account, you can read up to six articles each month for free.
Project Muse
EBSCOhost
Modern Painters
- Modern PaintersSearch the journal Modern Painters for the artist Balthus.
Then change the search. Look for an article about the artist you are going write about.
Metropolitan Museum of Art publications
- Metropolitan Museum of Art bulletinEBSCO Open Access Arts Collection: 1964 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Print: 1978 - present - Metropolitan Museum of Art publicationsincluding both:
Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin
Metropolitan Museum Journal
New York Times (LexisNexis and/or Google Advanced Search)
- Nexis Uni (the database formerly known as LexisNexis)Update: Nexis Uni will be the new LexisNexis. Please search there when LexisNexis is no longer available.
Newspapers
ProQuest US Major Dailies
1980-current
- New York Times on microfilmmicrofilm: 1922-2010
Cressman Library, 2nd floor
search words
20th century
twentieth century
modern art
painting
artist names
the art movement OR -ism
abstract expressionism
action painting
ashcan school OR ash can school
bauhaus
cubism
dada OR dadaism
fauvism
impressionism
realism OR "american realism"
surrealism
Art, Modern -- 19th century.
Art, Modern -- 20th century.
Art, Modern -- Themes, motives.
catalogs
exhibitions
E-Journals & Periodicals
- E-Journals & PeriodicalsGo to Cressman Library E-Journals & Perriodicals (EBSCO A-to-Z). Search by periodical title.
Find art journals and periodicals that the library subscribes to, whether online or in print.
Many Open Access journals are also included; for example;
Chicago Manual of Style
- Chicago/Turabian Documentation StyleThe Writing Center
The University of Wisconsin-Madison - The Purdue OWL Chicago Manual of Style Sample PaperContains the Author Date sample paper for The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.).
- The Purdue OWL Chicago Manual of Style Sample PaperContains the Notes and Bibliography (NB) sample paper for The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.).
Annotated Bibliography
- Go to: Annotated BibliographyFrom the Citing Libguide page.
Google Advanced Search
- Google Advanced SearchWhen searching Google, if at all, be sure to use Google Advanced Search.
Include a reliable, trustworthy website domain in your search.
nytimes.com
smithsonianmag.com
si.edu
moma.org
guggenheim.org
getty.edu
npr.org
metmuseum.org
Examples: - "armory show" site:npr.org1. 'Armory Show' That Shocked America In 1913, Celebrates 100. February 17, 2013.
2. In 1913, A New York Armory Filled With Art Stunned The Nation. November 11, 2013. - 1908 "The Eight at Macbeth Galleries" site:moma.orgPreview of circulating loan exhibitions, The Eight. The Museum of Modern Art. February 4, 1964.
- "ashcan school" site:si.edu1. Catalog for the exhibition held February 3-15, 1908, at the Macbeth Gallery of the painters who came to be known as "The Eight" or the "Ashcan school."
2. New York City through the Eyes of Its Artists.
Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar from the Databases A-Z page or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access.