search words
Keep a list of your search terms, for example:
gerontology
geriatrics
geriatric nursing
older people
aging OR ageing
ageism
old age
aged
elder care
elderly
frail
senior citizen
"activity theory"
lifespan
aging -- physiology
senescence
EZ Proxy
For access to library databases and full-text articles from off campus.
Directions:
1) select the resource you want to use
2) on the “EZproxy” screen
3) enter your campus network FalconNet credentials
If you encounter a problem or need assistance with research questions, contact Information Services at 610-606-4666 (ext: 3536).
Find Journals by Journal Title
Go to, either,
1) EBSCO A-to-Z | E-Journals & Periodicals List to find journals and/or to verify Cressman Library holdings, whether online or in print.
2) Or, WorldCat Discovery A-to-Z Titles.
To search the databases where Cressman Library journals are indexed, go to the Gerontology Research Guide Databases tab or to Databases A-Z.
Find a journal article when you have the DOI
Databases
- CINAHLAuthoritative resource for nursing and allied health.
- CQ Researcher"CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, an imprint of SAGE Publications."
- EBSCOhostSearch CINAHL, Education Full Text, Omnifile Full Text, PsycINFO/PsycARTICLES, Social Sciences Full Text, Social Work Abstracts databases, and more.
- FORENSICnetBASE, LawENFORCEMENTnetBASEForensic Handbooks Online: elder abuse, elder crime, nursing home crime, etc.
- GALE Health & Wellness Resource Center
This link opens in a new window
Find Books, Fact Sheets, Pamphlets and News.
Also, magazine and journal articles! - Nexis Uni -- The NEW LexisNexisAccess to government transcripts, trade journals, and academic and legal databases. Track court cases and view law reviews.
- PsycINFO and PsycARTICLESFrom the APA: citations and abstracts to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycARTICLES provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
- SAGE Journals OnlineOver 550 peer reviewed journals. Social Sciences and extensive scientific, technical and medical (STM) coverage.
- Science DirectScientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. The "green key" when browsing journals and the green square next to the article title when searching indicate full-text.
- Social Work AbstractsFrom the NASW: citations, abstracts and full text. Coverage includes theory and practice, areas of service, social issues and problems.
- SpringerLinkScientific, technical and medical (STM) journals, book series, books and reference works. Full-text is indicated by a PDF link.
- Wiley Online LibraryMultidisciplinary collection of resources. Life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Now including Reference works from Blackwell Reference Online and access to over 1,800 journal titles.
Other Databases
- WorldCat DiscoveryChoose Advanced Search.
Select Databases.
Select MEDLINE. - PubMed with Full Text Finder links
Look for the (PubMed Outside Tool) Full Text Finder link indicating our access to full text. If the library does not have access to the full text of an article, though, you will be redirected to WorldCat Discovery, the library catalog, to request an Interlibrary Loan. - MetaLibSearch across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases, including PubMed. View results by resources and then by table view. In a record, click the PubMed link to see if full text is available there -- look in the upper right corner.
Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar from the Cressman Library Databases A-Z list or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access to an article.