Primary source collection featuring documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
Approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).
This free research database offers essential content covering important issues related to race in society today. Includes full-text articles, government agency reports, primary source documents, and more.
A collection of databases from HeinOnline includes: Civil Rights and Social Justice, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, LGBTQ+ Rights, Slavery in American and the World: History, Culture, & Law, and the Open Society Justice Initiative.
While several resources in the databases are free, such as legislative histories, reports, hearing, and more, scholarly journal articles are not available for access via this database. You can check Google Scholar with any journal article citations that you may be interested in reading to check for availability, or request an article via our ILL system.
A collection from HeinOnline that brings together legal materials, including statutes, court cases, and historical documents.
NOTE: The database is free, but not all content is. Scholarly (Law Journal Library) journal articles are not available to us via this interface. Go to Google Scholar with any journal article citations that you may be interested in reading to check for availability.
Search through our Ebsco eBook collection, including a large collection of multidisciplinary Open Access eBooks from a variety of publishers, using this online digital library platform.
Search within several literary databases, including: Gale Virtual Reference Library, Dictionary Literary Biography Complete, Literature Resource Center, and Something about the Author.
Check out our GALE resources library guide, for more information and helpful tips on using GALE databases: libguides.cedarcrest.edu/GALE
From the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.
From the Modern Language Association (MLA), an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. Available as a searchable online database of more than 2.8 million records and constantly updated by scholars in the field.
A database providing full text, indexing and abstracts for a broad selection of periodicals covering many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment. Helpful for educators, students and patrons seeking current events, curriculum support and popular periodicals.
The Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative represents one of the most ambitious and comprehensive efforts to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web.
The Dictionary of Archives Terminology is the foremost reference on the archival lexicon.
Entries draw primarily from the professional literature in the United States and Canada.
Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. It supplies teachers, students, and researchers at every educational level with a wide array of titles they can use for reference, studying, teaching, and research.
Umbra Search celebrates the vital efforts of the individuals and institutions that have helped to preserve and make accessible online hundreds of thousands of pieces of African American history and culture, and we pay homage to the Umbra Society of the early 1960s, a renegade group of Black writers and poets who helped create the Black Arts Movement.
University of Minnesota professors Toni McNaron (English) and Carol Miller (American Studies and American Indian Studies) founded VG/Voices from the Gaps in 1996 to uncover, highlight, and share the works of marginalized artists, predominately women writers of color living and working in North America.
African American Review is a scholarly aggregation of insightful essays on African American literature, theatre, film, the visual arts, and culture; interviews; poetry; fiction; and book reviews.
Afro-Americans in New York Life and History is an interdisciplinary scholarly journal that is published twice per year by the Afro-American Historical Association of the Niagara Frontier, Inc.
Callaloo, the premier journal of literature, art, and culture of the African Diaspora, publishes original work by and about writers and visual artists of African descent worldwide.
CIBS was a Five College collaboration of Africana Studies scholars at UMass Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Amherst, and Smith Colleges. that lasted over two decades.
The Crisis is the official publication of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). It features African American commentary on current affairs. In the past, it has also featured African American literature prominently, and was one of the major magazines of the Harlem Renaissance.
Covers the writings of Langston Hughes, the first African American to make his living solely by his pen, writing fifty books, including poetry, drama, autobiography, history, fiction, prose comedy, juvenile literature, librettos, and black gospel song-plays.
Postcolonial Text is a refereed open access journal that publishes articles, book reviews, interviews, poetry and fiction on postcolonial, transnational, and indigenous themes.
A quarterly journal devoted to worldwide African literary studies. Publishes research in English in the oral and written literatures of Africa, and also information about African publishing, announcements of interest to Africanists, and literary notes and queries. Includes reviews and review essays of current books and a forum for discussion of issues raised.
Through essays, position papers, and commentaries, along with reviews, interviews, and previously unpublished diaries, letters, and stories, American Literary History surveys the contested field of US culture four times a year. No other scholarly publication offers such a wide-ranging and provocative discussion of critical challenges. American Literary History has become the premier forum for a rich and varied criticism shaping the ways we have come to think about America and setting the agenda of American cultural studies.
American Literature has been regarded since its inception as the preeminent periodical in its field. Each issue contains articles covering the works of several American authors—from colonial to contemporary—as well as an extensive book review section; a “Brief Mention” section offering citations of new editions and reprints, collections, anthologies, and other professional books; and an “Announcements” section that keeps readers up-to-date on prizes, competitions, conferences, grants, and publishing opportunities.
A semiannual scholarly journal devoted to the literary and intellectual life of the American South. Includes essays focused on southern writing from colonial times to the present. Includes literary criticism, historical studies, and thematic and interpretative analysis.
Committed to the interdisciplinary study of Southern culture through consideration of the arts including literature, folklore, anthropology, and history.
A quarterly journal devoted to contemporary literature in the U.S. and abroad and to Southern culture and history. Content includes works of fiction, poetry, and excerpts from novels in progress, as well as critical essays, interviews, and book reviews.
Presents a diverse array of contemporary poetry and literary prose; aims to expand the audience interested in poetry and literature, and to provide authors, especially poets, with a far-reaching forum in which to present their work.
Black Music Research Journal includes articles about the philosophy, aesthetics, history, and criticism of black music. BMRJ is an official journal of the Center for Black Music Research and is published by the University of Illinois Press.
An academic journal that publishes literature and art pertaining to contemporary Black concerns. Includes essays, poetry, fiction, photography, art, and reviews and commentary. Published three times a year in English, French and Spanish.
Published from 1987 to 1995, Black Sacred Music sought to establish theomusicology—a theologically informed musicology—as a distinct discipline, incorporating methods from anthropology, sociology, psychology, and philosophy to examine the full range of black sacred music.
RECONFIGURATIONS is a peer-reviewed international journal for poetics & poetry, creative & scholarly writing, innovative & traditional concerns with literary arts & cultural studies.
A scholarly journal devoted to modern literature from all continents, covering the period from 1900 to the present. Emphasis is on archival studies, literary history, and literary culture contributed by scholars worldwide.
Magazine previewing over 5000 books each year, including adult fiction and nonfiction hardcovers and trade paperbacks, as well as children's and young adult titles.
MFS publishes scholarly essays that analyze the important aesthetic, cultural, political, and environmental developments currently shaping today’s academic and public conversations. A leading international literature and humanities journal, MFS focuses on the various modalities and uses of fiction in the broadest sense of the term—publishing material designed to speak to a wide audience of scholars, public intellectuals, and cultural practitioners working across diverse fields, regions, and venues.
Articles and reviews on medieval and modern European languages (French, Italian, Hispanic, German, Dutch, Scandinavian, Slavonic and Eastern European) and literatures (including English) for members of the Modern Humanities Research Association.
Oral Tradition seeks to provide a comparative and interdisciplinary focus for studies in oral literature and related fields by publishing research and scholarship on the creation, transmission, and interpretation of all forms of oral traditional expression.
