Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Journals

Finding Journals

Library Catalog
Google Scholar

Use our WorldCat Discovery library catalog to search for and find books, eBooks, and more - within the Cressman Library and at other libraries around the country.

To find articles matching your search terms, limit search results to Articles from Format options. To find journals matching your search terms, limit search results to Journals from Format options. For best results, use the subject field of advanced search to find journals in your research area.

Search Google Scholar from the D atabases A-Z page or from a Cressman Library Research Guide so that your results will include Find It @ Cedar Crest links when the library has full text access.

Recommended Journals

Top-ranked journals in the field of criminal justice available at Cressman Library

American Journal of Criminal Justice

The American Journal of Criminal Justice is a peer-reviewed journal offering extensive research on diverse criminal justice topics and issues.

Coverage: 1997 - Present

Criminology & Public Policy

Criminology & Public Policy is devoted to the study of criminal justice policy and practice. The journal’s central objective is to strengthen the role of research in the formulation of crime and justice policy through publishing empirically based, policy-focused articles.

Coverage: 1997 - Present

Journal of Quantitative Criminology

The Journal of Quantitative Criminology applies quantitative techniques to substantive, methodological, and/or evaluative concerns within criminology.

Coverage: 1997 - Present

Criminology: An Interdisciplinary Journal

Criminology is devoted to the study of crime and deviant behavior. Interdisciplinary in scope, the journal publishes articles that advance the theoretical and research agenda of criminology and criminal justice.

Coverage: 1997 - Present

Criminal Justice and Behavior: An International Journal

Criminal Justice and Behavior (CJB), peer-reviewed and published monthly, promotes scholarly evaluations of assessment, classification, prevention, intervention, and treatment programs to help the correctional professional develop successful programs based on sound and informative theoretical and research foundations.

Coverage: 1997 - Present

Crime & Delinquency
Publication Date: 1960 - Present

Crime & Delinquency (CAD), peer-reviewed and published 8 times per year, is a policy-oriented journal offering a wide range of research and analysis for the scholar and professional in criminology and criminal justice. CAD focuses on issues and concerns that impact the criminal justice system, including the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice, as well as the victims, criminals, courts and sanctions.
Criminal Justice Ethics
Publication Date: 1995 - Present

Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy.
International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology
Publication Date: 1972 - Present

The International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative Criminology, a peer-reviewed journal published monthly for over five decades, has provided an essential platform for researchers, practitioners, and policymakers to engage with challenging international and comparative research.
Journal of Experimental Criminology
Publication Date: 2005 - Present

The Journal of Experimental Criminology is a premier source for high-quality experimental and quasi-experimental research in criminology and criminal justice.
Theoretical Criminology
Publication Date: 1997 - Present

Theoretical Criminology is a major interdisciplinary, international, peer reviewed journal. It is concerned with conceptual studies on narratives and myths of crime, punishment, social deviance, criminal law, morality, justice, gender, race, social regulation and governance.

American Journal of Criminal Law by The University of Texas School of Law
Publication Date: 1995 - Present

The American Journal of Criminal Law continues to contribute to over four decades of articles published to promote and encourage improvement in the administration of criminal justice. The Journal has established a respected reputation as one of the nation’s longest running and most prolific legal serial publications, serving as vanguard to top student-edited legal journals devoted to criminal law.
Analyses of Social Issues and Public Policy by Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues (SPSSI)
Publication Date: 2001 - Present

Analyses of Social Issues and Public Policy journal is an outlet for psychological and social science scholarship with implications for social action and policy. Under the guidance of an international editorial board, ASAP serves a global audience that includes policy makers and advocates as well as social scientists, students, and the public at large.
Criminal Justice Policy Review
Publication Date: 1986 - Present

Criminal Justice Policy Review (CJPR), published quarterly, is a multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal committed to the study of criminal justice policy through quantitative, qualitative, and mixed-methodological approaches. CJPR serves as a bridge between academics, policymakers, and practitioners by publishing sound research that addresses important issues in crime and justice and examines the implementation and effectiveness of criminal justice policies, programs, and practices.
Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency
Publication Date: 1964 - Present

The Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency (JRCD), peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, offers empirical articles and special issues to keep you up to date on contemporary issues and controversies in the study of crime and criminal-legal system responses. For more than sixty years, the journal has published work engaging a range of theoretical perspectives and methodological approaches to advance understanding of crime and violence, victimization, and criminalization processes and their implications for individuals, the criminal-legal system, and communities.
Law & Human Behavior by American Psychological Association
Publication Date: 1977 - Present

Law and Human Behavior , the official journal of APA Division 41 (American Psychology-Law Society), is a multidisciplinary forum for empirical manuscripts examining the interface between human behavior and the law (including the criminal justice and legal system, and the legal process).

Clinical Psychology Review
Publication Date: 1995 - Present

Clinical Psychology Review publishes substantive reviews of topics germane to clinical psychology. Papers cover diverse issues including: psychopathology, psychotherapy, behavior therapy, cognition and cognitive therapies, behavioral medicine, community mental health, assessment, and child development.
Frontiers in Psychology
Publication Date: 2010 - Present

The most cited journal in its field, exploring psychological sciences - from clinical research to cognitive science, from imaging studies to human factors, and from animal cognition to social psychology.
Personality and Individual Differences
Publication Date: 1995 - Present

Personality and Individual Differences is primarily devoted to the publication of articles (experimental, correlational, theoretical, expository/review) which enhance our understanding of the structure of personality and other forms of individual differences, the processes which cause these individual differences to emerge, and their practical applications.
Perspectives on Psychological Science by Association for Psychological Science
Publication Date: 2006 - Present

Perspectives on Psychological Science publishes an eclectic mix of provocative reports and articles, including broad integrative reviews, overviews of research programs, meta-analyses, theoretical statements, book reviews, and articles on topics such as the philosophy of science, opinion pieces about major issues in the field, autobiographical reflections of senior members of the field, and even occasional humorous essays and sketches.
Trends in Cognitive Sciences
Publication Date: 1997 - Present

Essential reading for those working directly in the cognitive sciences or in related specialist areas, Trends in Cognitive Sciences provides an instant overview of current thinking for scientists, students and teachers who want to keep up with the latest developments in the cognitive sciences.

Aggression and Violent Behavior
Publication Date: 1996 - Present

Aggression and Violent Behavior is a multidisciplinary journal that publishes high-quality research syntheses, as well as quantitative empirical studies focused on a wide range of topics related to the field of aggression and violent behavior.
Child Abuse & Neglect by International Society for Prevention of Child Abuse and Neglect
Publication Date: 1995 - Present

Child Abuse & Neglect is an international and interdisciplinary journal publishing articles on child welfare, health, humanitarian aid, justice, mental health, public health and social service systems.
Children and Youth Services Review
Publication Date: 1995 - Present

Children and Youth Services Review is an international, multidisciplinary journal that focuses on disadvantaged or otherwise vulnerable children, young people, families and the systems designed to support them. The journal provides a forum for rigorous scholarship relevant to policies, interventions, programs and services intended to improve well-being.
Journal of Interpersonal Violence
Publication Date: 1986 - Present

The Journal of Interpersonal Violence offers the most up-to-date information on domestic violence, rape, child sexual abuse and other violent crimes. JIV only publishes reports of individual studies in which the scientific method is applied to the study of some aspect of interpersonal violence.
Trauma, Violence & Abuse
Publication Date: 2000 - Present

Trauma, Violence, & Abuse (TVA), peer-reviewed and published five times per year, is a review journal devoted to organizing, synthesizing, and expanding knowledge on all forms of trauma, abuse, and violence. Dedicated to professionals and advanced students, TVA is intended to compile knowledge that clearly affects practice, policy, and research.

Interlibrary Loan
Open Access

ILL Requests

Can't find a resource you're looking for? Learn more about requesting an Interlibrary Loan for materials outside of Cressman Library.

Open Access

Open Access materials are freely available academic books and journals. Use these resources to find more scholarly articles.

OASPA
Open Access Scholarly Publishing Association
Open Access Publishing
a LibGuide and brief overview from Lane Medical Library at Stanford University