Getting Started
Handbook of Public Administration by Publication Date: 2021This Handbook of Public Administration sheds light for new researchers, doctoral students, scholars, and practitioners interested in probing modern public administration's role in solving major challenges facing nations and the world. This fourth edition recognizes that the scholarship of public administration must reflect the diverse influence of an international orientation, embracing public administration issues and practices in governance systems around the world, and illustrating just how practice can vary across jurisdictions.
Politics and public policy : Strategic Actors and Policy Domains by Publication Date: 2014The practice of politics and policymaking is complicated, involving thousands of people in government institutions and the private sector. Although each public law and public policy has a unique history, Politics and Public Policy is designed to help students understand the larger patterns of the policy making process.
Routledge Handbook of Public Policy by Publication Date: 2012This Handbook provides a comprehensive global survey of the policy process. Written by an outstanding line up of distinguished scholars and practitioners, the Handbook covers all aspects of the policy process including: Theory - from rational choice to the new institutionalism Frameworks - network theory, advocacy coalition and development models Key stages in the process - Formulation, implementation and evaluation Agenda setting and decision making The roles of key actors and institutions This is an invaluable resource for all scholars, graduate students and practitioners in public policy and policy analysis.
CQ Press Public Affairs Collection
Clarity, Authority, Context for Today's Vital Debates
Access to databases from HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite, free to HeinOnline Core subscribers and any interested organizations. Civil Rights and Social Justice, Open Society Justice Initiative, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, LGBTQ+ Rights.
PolicyArchive is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.
Academic Journals
- The American Review of Public Administration
The American Review of Public Administration is an elite scholarly journals in public administration and public affairs. ARPA’s identity lies at the core of the field of public administration, and its quality and reputation have grown in tandem as the journal marked its fiftieth year in 2020. ARPA focuses substantively on public administration broadly defined, publishing scholarship on all aspects of the field, including such traditional areas as organization and management studies, program and performance evaluation, and budgeting and financial management, as well as such emerging areas as network governance, public involvement and public service motivation.
- Policy and Society
Policy and Society is a leading international open access journal that publishes peer-reviewed research on critical issues in policy theory and practice at the local, national and international levels. The journal aims to understand the origin, workings and implications of policies within their broader political, social and economic contexts.
- Public Administration Review
Public Administration Review (PAR), a bi-monthly professional journal, has been the premier journal in the field of public administration research, theory, and practice for 75 years. It is published for the American Society for Public Administration, TM/SM and is the only journal in public administration that serves both academics and practitioners interested in the public sector and public sector management.
News Outlets
- Stateline
Stateline reports on the big challenges that cross state borders.
- Apolitical
a research and learning network for public sector workers
- Living New Deal
a scholarly project and digital collection from the Department of Geography at the University of California
- POLARIS
the CDC's hub for policy research resources and tools from their Office of Policy, Performance, and Evaluation
The Policy Process
How Information Matters : Networks and Public Policy Innovation by Publication Date: 2011
The Role of Governments in Legislative Agenda Setting by Publication Date: 2013
Congressional Procedures and the Policy Process by Publication Date: 2020
Legislative Oversight and Budgeting : A World Perspective by Publication Date: 2008
Public Budgeting in Context : Structure, Law, Reform and Results by Publication Date: 2014
Effective Implementation in Practice : Integrating Public Policy and Management by Publication Date: 2014
Policy Drift : Shared Powers and the Making of U. S. Law and Policy by Publication Date: 2018
Many government agencies and departments have their own offices of evaluation and assessment. To find them and their information, search google for "Agency Name" + "Assessment / Evaluation" or "(Federal Agency) Evaluation Policies" In addition, search The White House for "Agency Name" + "OMB Recommendations".
Handbook of Public Policy Evaluation by Publication Date: 2002
The Investigative State: Regulatory Oversight in the United States by Publication Date: 2023
Interest Groups and Lobbying
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Interest Groups, Lobbying and Public Affairs by Publication Date: 2022
Public Opinion
The Palgrave Handbook of Survey Research by Publication Date: 2018
Policy Analysis
To find additional information, check out our LibGuides to find information and tools for researching your topic.
Sources of Policy Analysis
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOnline multidisciplinary research platform with access to news, legal, and business content.
The Legal Analyst : A Toolkit for Thinking About the Law by Publication Date: 2007
Many government departments and government agencies have their own policy departments or digital collections of policy publications. To find these resources, search for "Government Agency/ Department name" + "policy" using Google. Or, search GovInfo for keyword "policy" and filter by Author.
- Congressional Research ServiceThey publish from Congress's Congressional Research Services on issues of public debate.
Expertise, Policy-making and Democracy by Publication Date: 2022This book offers a concise and accessible introduction to debates about expertise, policy-making, and democracy. It uniquely combines an overview of recent research on the policy role of experts with discussions in political philosophy and the philosophy of expertise.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on business and economics, conflict and diplomacy, society and culture, environment and climate change, and more, from over 366 geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals.
Topical Collections from SpringerLink and SpringerNature
- Addictive Behaviors Reports
- Current Addiction Reports
SpringerLink: 2014 - present
- Current Climate Change Reports
SpringerNature: 2015 - present
- Current Environmental Health Reports
Springer Nature: 2014 - present
- Current Epidemiology Reports
Springer Nature: 2014 - present
- Current Geriatrics Reports
SpringerLink: 2012 - present
- Current Nutrition Reports
SpringerLink: 2012 - present
Project Management and Planning Resources
Reading Public Policy
Writing Public Policy
Argumentation: The Art of Civil Advocacy by Publication Date: 2018
Writing Public Policy : a Practical Guide to Communicating in the Policy Making Process by Publication Date: 2015
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowAn online database that explores opposing sides of key issues and current events, helping learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
- Policy BriefsThe Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Research Methods Books
