Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Historical Research
Review with Case Studies
Getting Started
America's Foreign Policy Toolkit : Key Institutions and Processes by Publication Date: 2013How is foreign policy in the United States really crafted? Who does the work? How are the various activities of the many key participants coordinated and controlled? In 'America's Foreign Policy Toolkit', Charles A. Stevenson identifies for students what the key foreign policy tools are, clarifies which tools are best for which tasks, describes the factors that constrain or push how they're used, and provides fresh insight into the myriad challenges facing national security decisionmakers.
Foreign Policy Analysis : A Toolbox by Publication Date: 2018This book presents the evolution of the field of foreign policy analysis and explains the theories that have structured research in this area over the last 50 years. It provides the essentials of emerging theoretical trends, data and methodological pitfalls and major case-studies and is designed to be a key entry point for graduate students, upper-level undergraduates and scholars into the discipline.
Routledge Handbook of American Foreign Policy by Publication Date: 2012The Routledge Handbook of American Foreign Policy brings together leading experts in the field to examine current trends in the way scholars study the history and theories of American conduct in the world, analysis of state and non-state actors and their tools in conducting policy, and the dynamics of a variety of pressing transnational challenges facing the United States.
Provides overviews of current newsworthy social issues. Also, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news--American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Browse by date back to 1923 or with the Issue Tracker. Follow Pro/Con and Hot Topics like health, social movements, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy, human rights, war and conflict.
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
Academic Journals
- American Diplomacy
The journal is open-access. Our goal is to inform readers about international issues and diplomacy, to promote greater understanding of the Foreign Service and the role of diplomats, and to encourage readers to consider a Foreign Service career. American Diplomacy contributors and content editors include U.S. and foreign diplomacy practitioners as well as independent observers and scholars.
- American Journal of Political Science
The American Journal of Political Science (AJPS), published four times each year, is one of the most widely-read political science journals in the United States. AJPS is a general journal of political science open to all members of the profession and to all areas of the discipline of political science.
-
Foreign AffairsEBSCOhost: 1994 - present
LexisNexis/Nexis Uni: 1982 - present
NOTE: Like many magazines with online websites, you will often be able to read entire articles from the current issues there. Many of the articles, though, will not display completely. When you find yourself in that situation, take the EBSCOhost link for the magazine or journal and look up the article you need there. For Foreign Affairs, this will work even for the most current issue.
News
- Defense News
News relate to the politics and policy of national defense and the military
- National Security Council (NSC)
A White House page about these presidential advisors
- Timeline of U.S. Diplomatic History
a timeline from the Department of State
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Fact sheets on diplomatic relations with the United States
Diplomacy and Foreign Policy Advising
Databases
Government Publications
Government Websites
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowAn online database that explores opposing sides of key issues and current events, helping learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
Sources
Data and Statistics
Government Documents, Information, and Websites
Policy Research
Public Opinion
Public Opinion and American Foreign Policy by Publication Date: 2004
