Getting Started
Disequilibrium, Polarization, and Crisis Model : An International Relations Theory Explaining Conflict by Publication Date: 2013Different international relations theorists have studied political change, but all fall short of sufficiently integrating human reactions, feelings, and responses to change in their theories. This book adds a social psychological component to the analysis of why nations, politically organized groups, or states enter into armed conflict. The Disequilibrium, Polarization, and Crisis Model is introduced, which draws from prospect theory, realism, liberalism, and constructivism. The theory considers how humans react and respond to change in their social, political, and economic environment.
Handbook of Peace and Conflict Studies by Publication Date: 2007This major new Handbook provides a cutting-edge and transdisciplinary overview of the main issues, debates, state-of-the-art methods, and key concepts in peace and conflict studies today. They have forged a transdisciplinary and professional identity distinct from security studies, political science, and international relations. The volume is divided into four sections: understanding and transforming conflict creating peace supporting peace peace across the disciplines.
Routledge International Handbook of Social Justice by Publication Date: 2014This authoritative volume explores different perspectives on social justice and what its attainment would involve. It addresses key issues, such as resolving fundamental questions about human nature and social relationships; the distribution of resources, power, status, rights, access, and opportunities; and the means by which decisions regarding this distribution are made.
Access to databases from HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite, free to HeinOnline Core subscribers and any interested organizations. Civil Rights and Social Justice, Open Society Justice Initiative, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, LGBTQ+ Rights.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
Access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
- Journal of Conflict Resolution
coverage: 1999 - present
The Journal of Conflict Resolution is an interdisciplinary journal of social scientific theory and research on human conflict. It focuses especially on international conflict, but its pages are open to a variety of contributions about intergroup conflict, as well as between nations, that may help in understanding problems of war and peace. - Journal of Peace Research
coverage: 1999 - present
Journal of Peace Research is an interdisciplinary and international peer reviewed bimonthly journal of scholarly work in peace research. Edited at the Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO), by an international editorial committee, Journal of Peace Research strives for a global focus on conflict and peacemaking. The Journal encourages a wide conception of peace, but focuses on the causes of violence and conflict resolution.
- Peace and Conflict: Journal of Peace Psychology
coverage: 1995 - present
Peace and Conflict: Journal of Peace Psychology (PAC) welcomes scholarly manuscripts that examine peace, conflict, and their interaction at all levels of analysis, from interpersonal to community, regional, national, and international issues.
- HRMI (Human Rights Measurement Initiative) Rights Tracker
Explore data across specific rights, countries, and groups
- Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch defends the rights of people worldwide. We scrupulously investigate abuses, expose the facts widely, and pressure those with power to respect rights and secure justice. Human Rights Watch is an independent, international organization that works as part of a vibrant movement to uphold human dignity and advance the cause of human rights for all.
- Practice Notes: Legal Writing for Human Rights Claims
Human Rights
Global Health and Human Rights Database
A database of international legal information about health and human rights by Lawyers Collective and the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University.
Human Rights Data Analysis Group (HRDAG)
A project which aims to provide accurate and essential data on human rights claims. Sponsored by the Community Partners nonprofit.
Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights Databases
Recommended data sources of information by and about human rights and the United Nations.
- Harvard Human Rights Journal
"The Harvard Human Rights Journal was founded in 1988 and has since endeavored to be a site for a broad spectrum of scholarship on international and domestic human rights issues. The Journal publishes a range of original scholarly works on human rights issues of contemporary relevance, and in the past has featured pieces on subjects as diverse as refugee asylum law, female prisoner’s rights, rights of child soldiers, oil and the role of the World Bank, detention, rendition, and domestic violence."
- Human Rights Quarterly
"Human Rights Quarterly (HRQ) is widely recognized as the leader in the field of human rights. For more than a quarter of a century, HRQ has published articles by experts from around the world writing for the specialist and non-specialist alike. The Quarterly provides up-to-date information on important developments within the United Nations and regional human rights organizations, both governmental and non-governmental."
- Yale Human Rights & Development Law Journal
Examines human rights and development and how they interrelate in both the industrialized and developing world.
Research Methods
