Research in political science often requires an analysis of specific documents, comparing coverage of events, and understanding history in context. This page includes resources for finding, analyzing, and incorporating primary sources into your project.
Getting Started
Essaying the Past : How to Read, Write, and Think about History by Publication Date: 2016
Going to the Sources : A Guide to Historical Research and Writing by Publication Date: 2017
- Primary Sources: EvaluatingAn explanatory primer on evaluating primary sources (and evaluating whether or not these materials are primary source) from Lafayette College Library
Primary Sources: Books
Resources for Researching Traumatic Content
- APA: Citing Uncommon Sourcesa LibGuide from West Chester University
- Citing Government Documentsa LibGuide from Columbia University
- How to Cite Non-Traditional Sourcesa LibGuide from Denison University
- MLA Works Cited: Other Common SourcesThe Purdue Owl's Guide to MLA citation
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Call Number: 808.02 U58c4Publication Date: 2017The "Special types of references" section in chapter 14 will be most helpful in determining the proper references for primary sources.
The Columbia Guide to Online Style : Second Edition by Publication Date: 2006The Columbia Guide to Online Style is the standard resource for citing electronic and electronically accessed sources. It is also a critical style guide for creating documents electronically for submission for print or electronic publication.
I Need More Help
Research Help
Historical Research : A Guide for Writers of Dissertations, Theses, Articles and Books by Publication Date: 2002
The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students by Call Number: 907.2 P934IPublication Date: 2006
Reading Context
Researching
Gather Evidence
Finding primary sources.
When searching the library catalog, this is how to discover individual materials and topical collections of documents. For best results, limit Content Type to Non Fiction.
- Advanced Search: use "sources" in the subject field
- Catalog Search: use su:(sources)
ArchiveGrid is an aggregated database of archives. Search multiple archival and museum libraries at once through their site.
- HeinOnline Social Justice This link opens in a new windowAccess to databases from HeinOnline's Social Justice Suite, free to HeinOnline Core subscribers and any interested organizations. Civil Rights and Social Justice, Open Society Justice Initiative, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, LGBTQ+ Rights.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowProvides overviews of current newsworthy social issues. Also, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news--American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs Browse by date back to 1923 or with the Issue Tracker. Follow Pro/Con and Hot Topics like health, social movements, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy, human rights, war and conflict.
- FBI Records: The VaultFOIA Documents
- Papers of the War Department: 1784 - 1800Papers of the War Department is a free online database that has digitized more than 42,000 documents of the United States Department of War. Materials highlight the War Department’s role not just in military affairs, but also its management of Indian affairs, veteran affairs, naval affairs, and military contracting.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowSeries 1 - 5, covering 1691 to 1877. The AAS digital collection with more than 6,500 historical periodical titles documents the life in America from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. A broad range of topics are covered, including science, medicine, agriculture, entertainment, religion, history, women's fashion, literature, and politics.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
- Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary collection of over 75,000 videos. Or, go to ProQuest Academic Video Online.
- Artstor Public collections This link opens in a new windowOpen access to 2.5 million images from museums, photo archives, scholars, artists
- Google Arts & Culture This link opens in a new window
Evaluate Sources
Interpret historical materials and determine which types of sources are best suited to your project
History Beyond the Text : A Student's Guide to Approaching Alternative Sources by Publication Date: 2008The challenges these sources pose require new skills of interpretation and require historians to consider alternative theoretical and practical approaches. Each chapter introduces the reader to the source, suggests the methodological and theoretical questions historians should keep in mind when using it, and provides case studies to illustrate best practice in analysis and interpretation.
Using Non-Textual Sources: A Historian's Guide by Publication Date: 2015Using Non-Textual Sources provides history students with the theoretical background and skills to interpret non-textual sources. It introduces the full range of non-textual sources used by historians and offers practical guidance on how to interpret them and incorporate them into essays and dissertations. In addition to this, the book posits a theoretical framework that justifies the use of these items as historical sources and explains how they can be used to further understand the past. There is coverage of the creation, production and distribution of non-textual sources; the acquisition of skills to 'read' these sources analytically; and the meaning, significance and reliability of these forms of evidence.
- Making Sense of EvidenceHow-to guides and critical thinking advice for analyzing primary sources; organized by material type.
A scholarly project by the American Social History Project/Center for Media & Learning at the City University of New York in partnership with the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University
Writing
Writing in history has some differences from the analytical style that is standard in political science. If using primary sources in your research and performing historical analysis, there are key elements to consider. When writing for the audience that is unfamiliar with your topic, it is necessary to provide adequate context for the period. In addition, the project should be able to explain changes over time. For the writing style, it should also incorporate narrative elements.
A Short Guide to Writing about History by Publication Date: 2006Writing and History -- Thinking about History -- Modes of Historical Writing -- Gathering Information -- Taking Notes and Writing Drafts -- Writing in an Electronic Age -- Writing Conventions and Style -- Documenting Sources.
