Reading Resources
Federalism
Case Studies
Getting Started
Comparative Political Thought : Theorizing Practices by Publication Date: 2012This edited book introduces students and scholars to Comparative Political Thought. Featuring contributions from an excellent international line-up of esteemed scholars it examines some of the following issues: Is political theory 'Western-centric'? What can we learn from non-Western traditions of political thought? How do we compare different strands of national and regional political thought?
Comparative Politics: Explaining Democratic Systems by Publication Date: 2009This book provides a distinctive new introduction to the study of comparative politics at undergraduate level. Rich in case study material and global in coverage, Comparative Politics sets out the basic theoretical and methodological foundations for studying different political systems as well as the key structures and actors of which they are comprised.
The SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics by The SAGE Handbook of Comparative Politics presents in one volume an authoritative overview of the theoretical, methodological, and substantive elements of comparative political science. The 28 specially commissioned chapters, written by renowned comparative scholars, guide the reader through the central issues and debates, presenting a state-of-the-art guide to the past, present, and possible futures of the field.
Provides overviews of current newsworthy social issues. Also, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news--American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs Browse by date back to 1923 or with the Issue Tracker. Follow Pro/Con and Hot Topics like health, social movements, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy, human rights, war and conflict.
Charting events and monitoring democratic trajectories from The Global State of Democracy Initiative
World News, Regional News, Local News, Special Reports, Hot Topics, Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans
- Comparative Political Studies
Comparative Political Studies, (CPS), offers scholarly work on comparative politics at both the cross-national and intra-national levels. Dedicated to relevant, in-depth analyses, CPS provides the timeliest methodology, theory, and research in the field of comparative politics. Journal articles discuss innovative work on comparative methodology, theory, and research from around the world with important implications for the formation of domestic and foreign policies.
- Party Politics
Political parties are intrinsic to every democratic political system, and with the dramatic changes that regularly sweep the political landscape, the study of their function and form is one of the most dynamic areas within contemporary scholarship. Party Politics is a peer-reviewed journal dedicated to the study of this integral component within political science.
- Journal of Democracy
Focusing exclusively on democracy, the Journal monitors and analyzes democratic regimes and movements around the world.
- Country Risk Information
investing risk rankings from A.M. Best Company
- Political Map of Africa
- Varieties of Democracy
Data and publications that aim to measure democracy
American Government in Comparative Perspective
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Primary source documents from Europe about or relating to the United States
Political Database of the Americas
Comparative governmental information from Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
- Constitution Annotated
The American Constitution, annotated and explained at Congress.gov
- Global Views of American Democracy
yearly reports from the Institute for Global Affairs, 2019-2024
- U.S. Government Accountability Office
The official United States website for information on government performance
Research Methods
The independence of official statistics : norms, arrangements, instrumentsPublication Date: 2023
The Performance of Nations by Publication Date: 2012
The Palgrave Handbook of Indicators in Global Governance by Publication Date: 2018
