dictionaries and encyclopedias
Historical Research
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
Women in the Legal Profession
- Timeline of Legal History of Women in the United Statesfrom the National Women's History Alliance
Getting Started
Women and Justice by Publication Date: 2009tilizing a sociological and feminist lens, Women and Justice examines what justice has meant in the lives of women. The book includes diverse quotes relating to the notion of justice and examines numerous issues_both civil and criminal_to bring a broader understanding. As the only sociolegal text on the market that attempts to include both civil and criminal issues between two covers, the work is framed by the working term'quadraplexation'_a term grounded in the work of feminist theorist Juliet Mitchell. This framework helps us to better understand how and why women are treated the way they are in contemporary society, and it helps to frame our understanding of the historical legal decision-making process.
Women and the U. S. Constitution : History, Interpretation, and Practice by Publication Date: 2004Women and the U.S. Constitution is about much more than the nineteenth amendment. This provocative volume incorporates law, history, political theory, and philosophy to analyze the U.S. Constitution as a whole in relation to the rights and fate of women.
Women in American Politics: History and Milestones by Publication Date: 2012Women in American Politics: History and Milestones is a unique and comprehensive reference that details the milestones and trends in women’s political participation in the United States. This work provides much-needed perspective and background on the events and situations that have surrounded women’s political activities. Women in American Politics offers insightful analysis on women’s political achievements in the United States, including the campaign to secure nationwide suffrage; pioneer women state officeholders; women first elected to U.S. Congress, governorships, mayoralties, and other offices; and women first appointed as Cabinet officials, judges, and ambassadors.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
Humanities and social sciences journals.
Social Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
open access journals hosted by University of Wisconsin publishing women's and feminist scholarship
- Feminist Legal Studies
Feminist Legal Studies is committed to an international perspective and to the promotion of feminist work in all areas of law, legal theory and legal practice. The journal publishes material in a range of formats, including articles, essay reviews, interviews, book reviews and notes on recent legal developments
- Gender, Work and Organization
Gender, Work & Organization is the first gender equality journal dedicated to gender relations, the organization of gender and the gendering of organizations.
- Sexuality, Gender and Policy
Sexuality, Gender & Policy (SGP) focuses on the social, political, and cultural dimensions of sexuality, as well as policy-relevant research on issues related to sexual health, sexual rights, and sexuality education.
- American Women: Resources from the Law Library
a Library of Congress research guide
- CAWP
Center for American Women and Politics from Rutgers University
- Women's Bureau
An agency within the Department of Labor dedicated to women's rights in the workplace
Legal Theory
Case Law and Legislation
Handbooks and Practitioner Aids
