Research Methods Books
Country Profiles
Political Handbook of the World 2022-2023 by Publication Date: 2023
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, 3-Volume Set by Call Number: 324.2 S338W
Inter-Governmental and Non-Governmental Organizations
Mathematical Analysis Books
Research in Global Studies
This field of study requires the ability to analyze world events in a global perspective. Another name for international relations or global studies is area studies, which tries to group nations primarily by geographic proximity and other similarities like form of government or economy. The basics of research should focus on the Four Cs: Comparison, Competition, Cooperation, and Culture. Literature often takes the form of case studies to explore problem origins and strategies.
Evaluating Methodology in International Studies by Publication Date: 2009Evaluating Methodology in International Studies offers a unique collection of original essays by world-renowned political scientists. The essays address the state of the discipline in regard to the methodology of researching global politics, focusing in particular on formal modeling, quantitative methods, and qualitative approaches in International Studies. The authors reflect on the strengths and weaknesses of current methodology and suggest ways to advance theory and research in International Studies.
Global Studies Directory : People, Organizations, Publications by Publication Date: 2017The Global Studies Directory identifies people and institutions who have been key in the field of Global Studies or made an impact on the formation of a global world.
Resources and Applied Methods in International Relations by Publication Date: 2018This book constitutes an up-to-date methodology reference work for International Relations (IR) scholars and students. The study of IR calls for the use of multiple and various tools to try and describe international phenomena, analyze and understand them, compare them, interpret them, and try to offer theoretical approaches.
Assessments
Building better policies : the nuts and bolts of monitoring and evaluation systems by Publication Date: 2012
Indicators, Measurements, and Standards
- Economic indicators | U.S. Department of CommerceThese indicators are based on data and reports from the Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis
- Rule of Law Indexfrom the World Justice Project
- Artstor Public collections This link opens in a new window
Documents
- Constitutefull-text of constitutions by country
- ECLAC Digital Repositorythe Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean
- IDEASinternational economic data
Public Opinion
- AfrobarometerSurvey data from the African continent
- LatinobarómetroPublic opinion surveys of Latin America
Statistics and Data
- IPUMSIntegrated Public Use Microdata Series is a database of compiled information National Statistical Offices (NSOs) organized into subjects
- Our World in Data This link opens in a new windowA free and openly accessible database whose mission is to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems." Our World in Data is a project of the Global Change Data Lab and the University of Oxford.
