Getting Started
Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics by Publication Date: 2013The Routledge Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics provides a unique reference source for students and academics covering all aspects of global international relations and the contemporary discipline across IR's major subject divisions of diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and theory. Written by a distinguished group of international scholars, the Encyclopedia is largely comprised of substantial entries of more than 1,000 words, with fifty major entries of 5,000 words on core contemporary topics. Each entry is fully cross-referenced and followed by a listing of complementary entries and a short bibliography for further reading. The whole is comprehensively indexed.
Framing the Global: Entry Points for ResearchPublication Date: 2014Framing the Global explores new and interdisciplinary approaches to the study of global issues. Essays are framed around the entry points or key concepts that have emerged in each contributor's engagement with global studies in the course of empirical research, offering a conceptual toolkit for global research in the 21st century.
Palgrave Handbook of Inter-Organizational Relations in World Politics by Publication Date: 2016This unique handbook brings together a team of leading scholars and practitioners in order to map, synthesize and assess key perspectives on cooperation and rivalry between regional and global organizations in world politics.
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
Gale in Context: World History
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
Our World in Data’s mission is to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems." There are several other data and dataset sites listed on our Data & Datasets Research Guide.
Academic Journals
- Global Policy
Global Policy is an innovative and interdisciplinary journal that will bring together world class academics and leading practitioners to analyse both public and private solutions to global problems and issues. Its focus is on understanding globally relevant risks and collective action problems; policy challenges that have global impact; and competing and converging discourses about global risks and policy responses.
- International Political Science Review = Revue internationale de science politique
The International Political Science Review (IPSR) is the journal of the International Political Science Association. It is committed to publishing peer-reviewed articles that make a significant contribution to international political science. It seeks to appeal to political scientists throughout the world and in all sub-fields of the discipline who are interested in studying political phenomena in the context of increasing international interdependence and change.
- World Politics
Since 1948, World Politics has published analytical and theoretical articles, review articles, and research notes in international relations, comparative politics, political theory, foreign policy, and modernization.
News
- Al Jazeera
a leading news outlet for Arab media
- BBC News
the news outlet of the British Broadcasting Corporation
- Freely Accessible Country/Regional Profiles Online Resources
a list of related links from the Library of Congress
- UNESCO
"UNESCO's messages are of increasing importance today, in a globalized world where interconnections and diversity must serve as opportunities to build peace in the minds of men and women."
- World History Encyclopedia
An interactive encyclopedia including maps and timelines to promote cultural heritage
Key Concepts
Thinking in Global Perspectives
Thinking Globally : A Global Studies Reader by Publication Date: 2013
World News, Regional News, Local News, Special Reports, Hot Topics, Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Find overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues
Ebooks from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Companions in a wide range of subjects.
Academic Journals
- European Political Science Review
The European Political Science Review (EPSR) publishes high quality scholarly research in political science, focusing on the most important debates in the discipline and demonstrating the highest possible standards in conceptualisation, theorisation and methodology
News Websites
- Africa Newswire
An aggregate source for news headlines from Africa
- East View Global Press Archive
An archive of Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers hosted by the Center for Research Libraries
- EuroTopics
European Press Roundup
- Cultural Atlas
An Australian website for education on immigrant populations
- Gapminder
a database focused on dispelling misconceptions about global development
- World Values Survey
international polling data for governance
United States in World Politics
World Out of Balance : International Relations and the Challenge of American Primacy by Publication Date: 2008
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Primary source documents from Europe about or relating to the United States
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
- Perspectives on Politics
Perspectives seeks to nurture a political science public sphere, publicizing important scholarly topics, ideas, and innovations, linking scholarly authors and readers, and promoting broad reflexive discussion among political scientists about the work that we do and why this work matters.
- CNN News Central
The CNN Transcripts file contains news programming generated by CNN reporters and producers throughout the 24-hour broadcast day.
- Politico
Political news focusing on the United States
- Global Views of American Democracy
English-translated international news. A United States government website.
- U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Fact sheets on diplomatic relations with the United States
- Voice of America (VOA)
English-language international news provided by the US government