Study Help
A Student's Guide to U. S. History by Publication Date: 2014
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Getting Started
American Political Thought: Readings and Materials by Publication Date: 2016American Political Thought: Readings and Materials presents a diverse collection of writings, speeches, judicial opinions, and other political documents, offering an introduction to the controversies and disputes that have mobilized Americans since the first settlements in North America. Ranging from the Colonial era to the present day-and featuring both traditional readings and lesser-known documents-this reader takes a historical approach that helps students see how political, economic, and social conditions led to the development of specific political ideas. Each chapter includes a substantial introduction and each reading is enriched by headnotes and discussion questions.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.
Race and the Making of American Political Science by Publication Date: 2018Race and the Making of American Political Science shows that changing scientific ideas about racial difference were central to the academic study of politics as it emerged in the United States.
Provides overviews of current newsworthy social issues. Also, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news--American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Browse by date back to 1923 or with the Issue Tracker. Follow Pro/Con and Hot Topics like health, social movements, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, the economy, human rights, war and conflict.
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
Uncover information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in U.S. history from a variety of sources.
Academic Journals
The purpose of Amercian Politics Research is to promote and disseminate high-quality research in all areas of American politics, including local, state, and national. American Politics Research will publish significant studies concerning American political behavior, political parties, public opinion, legislative behavior, courts and the legal process, executive and administrative politics, public policy, and all other topics appropriate to our understanding of American government and politics. Manuscripts from all social science disciplines are welcomed.
American Politics Quarterly/ American Politics Research
American Politics Research presents original works by distinguished authors from a wide range of fields concerned with American politics. Articles examine and explore topics in every area of government, from local and state to regional and national.
Encourages the interdisciplinary study of the cultures and politics of the United States, the changing representations of national identity, and the construction of borderland and diasporic cultures over time.
News Outlets
A daily publication of Congressional activity from the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), and the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO)
American political news
The official government repository of Congressional Research.
- National Archives
The records center of the federal branch.
- USA.gov
Use this search engine to find government websites dedicated to your topic. The site includes information from federal, state, and local government websites.
American Political History
An African American and Latinx History of the United States by Call Number: 305.8 O77afPublication Date: 2018
The Routledge Handbook to the History and Society of the Americas by Publication Date: 2019
Databases
Web Resources
American Political Theory
Databases
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database containing biographical information and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of major literary figures.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowAccess 185 active full-text humanities journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals.
