Go to our Databases A-Z page to see the full list of databases offered through Cressman Library.
Use our Introduction to Databases LibGuide to learn more about starting your research and database search strategies.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowA resource providing comprehensive and unbiased overviews, reporting, and analysis of current social and political issues and debates.
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on business and economics, conflict and diplomacy, society and culture, environment and climate change, and more, from over 366 geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals.
- HeinOnline Social Justice This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases from HeinOnline includes: Civil Rights and Social Justice, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, LGBTQ+ Rights, Slavery in American and the World: History, Culture, & Law, and the Open Society Justice Initiative.
- ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowAccess to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
- U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing extensive resources on U.S. historical events and biographies, with millions of articles from periodicals and newspapers, and primary source documents.
Cressman Library and Open Access Databases
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on business and economics, conflict and diplomacy, society and culture, environment and climate change, and more, from over 366 geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowAn online database that explores opposing sides of key issues and current events, helping learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windoweBooks from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Companions in a wide range of subjects.
- Readers’ Guide Full Text This link opens in a new windowA database providing full text, indexing and abstracts for a broad selection of periodicals covering many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment. Helpful for educators, students and patrons seeking current events, curriculum support and popular periodicals.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 6,000 eBooks - encyclopedias, handbooks and more. Business & Management. Counseling & Psychotherapy. Criminology. Education. Geography. Health & Social Care. Media & Communication. Politics. Psychology. Sociology.
- U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing extensive resources on U.S. historical events and biographies, with millions of articles from periodicals and newspapers, and primary source documents.
- World History in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing access to centuries worth of rare primary sources as well as reliable references and multimedia content, with resources surrounding events, cultures, religions, wars, and people.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowComprehensive business database containing in-depth company profiles, SWOT analyses, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, and more.
Business and Market Research
- Business Abstracts with Full Text, Business Periodicals Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowContains full-text magazines and scholarly journals in a full range of business-related topics including finance, management, international business, human resources and marketing.
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new windowDirectory of worldwide business information (using D&B’s Hoover’s First Research data) with access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry research, and more.
- RKMA (Richard K. Miller & Associates) This link opens in a new windowMarketing and the consumer marketplace handbooks.
Featuring Consumer Behavior: Pandemic & Post-Pandemic
Political Economy
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)An agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, "BEA is one of the world's leading statistical agencies."
"BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public."
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowA resource providing comprehensive and unbiased overviews, reporting, and analysis of current social and political issues and debates.
Global Politics
- Our World in Data This link opens in a new windowA free and openly accessible database whose mission is to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems." Our World in Data is a project of the Global Change Data Lab and the University of Oxford.
United States
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new windowComprehensive business database containing in-depth company profiles, SWOT analyses, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, and more.
- Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new windowInformation on business and economics, conflict and diplomacy, society and culture, environment and climate change, and more, from over 366 geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals.
- ODSOfficial Documents of the United Nations
Data and Statistics
- Our World in Data This link opens in a new windowA free and openly accessible database whose mission is to publish the “research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems." Our World in Data is a project of the Global Change Data Lab and the University of Oxford.
News
- NewsBank This link opens in a new windowWorld News, Regional News, Local News, Special Reports, Hot Topics, Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans from a selection of newspapers.
American History
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowThe AAS digital collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles covering a broad range of topics documenting life in America from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
- Documenting the American South (DocSouth)Documenting the American South (DocSouth), a digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. It supplies teachers, students, and researchers at every educational level with a wide array of titles they can use for reference, studying, teaching, and research.
- Founders OnlineA collaborative project between the National Archives and Records Administration and various university presses, Founders Online provides text-searchable transcriptions of over 185,000 documents. Most of these records come from the papers of America’s leading early statesmen, including George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, and James Madison. Each document is annotated to provide the reader with historical context, as well as further reading suggestions.
- U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing extensive resources on U.S. historical events and biographies, with millions of articles from periodicals and newspapers, and primary source documents.
World History
- European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750Primary source documents from Europe about or relating to the United States
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources, many of which are Open Access or available through a free collection.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowA collection from HeinOnline that brings together legal materials, including statutes, court cases, and historical documents.
- World History in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing access to centuries worth of rare primary sources as well as reliable references and multimedia content, with resources surrounding events, cultures, religions, wars, and people.
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases from HeinOnline includes: Civil Rights and Social Justice, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, LGBTQ+ Rights, Slavery in American and the World: History, Culture, & Law, and the Open Society Justice Initiative.
- HeinOnline Social Justice This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases from HeinOnline includes: Civil Rights and Social Justice, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, LGBTQ+ Rights, Slavery in American and the World: History, Culture, & Law, and the Open Society Justice Initiative.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowThis Open Access Encyclopedia organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
- New York Times (registration) This link opens in a new windowGet full access to the New York Times online, as a CCC student, staff, and faculty member. See more info below, on registration instructions.
- NewsBank This link opens in a new windowWorld News, Regional News, Local News, Special Reports, Hot Topics, Daily Headlines & Lesson Plans from a selection of newspapers.
Historical Newspapers
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new windowThe AAS digital collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles covering a broad range of topics documenting life in America from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowIndependent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
International News
United States
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection of African American history, cultural movements, and influential figures as recorded by American and global news media sources from 1976 to present day.
- Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals.
- ProQuest U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
American Government
- HeinOnline Social Justice This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases from HeinOnline includes: Civil Rights and Social Justice, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, LGBTQ+ Rights, Slavery in American and the World: History, Culture, & Law, and the Open Society Justice Initiative.
Global Studies
Policy Research Organizations
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowAccess 185 active full-text humanities journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources, many of which are Open Access or available through a free collection.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowAn online database of peer-reviewed academic journals and electronic books, focused on the humanities and social sciences.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowOver 600 peer reviewed journals. Social Sciences and extensive scientific, technical and medical (STM) coverage.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowAccess to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides detailed indexing for over 625 periodicals dating back as far as 1983—nearly 400 of which are peer-reviewed.
Data and Statistics
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)An agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, "BEA is one of the world's leading statistical agencies."
"BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public."